Thursday, March 30, 2017
Text Size




Seymour, July 3- With all the uncertain weather so far in 2016, you could not have ordered a better day for racing than there was Sunday at Seymour Raceway Park for the Budweiser Summer Holiday Classic. 

 The IMCA Modifieds and IRA Outlaw Sprint Cars headlined the special event along with the IMCA Sport Mods.


Robby Thiel led the opening lap of the Sport Mod main with Jason Vandenberg taking away the top spot on lap 2.    Vandenberg set the pace through a pair of cautions and the field was reset on lap 12 for a restart with J.J. Andersen, Rob Krull, Lucas Lamberies,  Russell Franks and Hunter Parsons behind.  

Krull made the pass for the lead on the restart with a tight battle behind until a final caution on lap 18 set up a 7 lap sprint to the finish.

Lamberies hooked up outside after the restart and Andersen tucked behind the leader on the inside.  The trio pulled ahead of the field a bit and staged a fierce battle for the top spot.   Lamberies was scored as the leader on lap 22, but could not make the outside work enough to pull off the complete pass.   Krull was able to withstand the pressure over the final 3 laps to secure his first feature win of the season.    Andersen pulled out the runner up finish with Lamberies taking third.     The battle for 4th through 6th was tight to the finish line with Ron Besaw taking the 4th spot.   Hunter Parsons made his first run of the season ending up in fifth with Travis Arenz rounding out the top six.

Krull’s run was more impressive with the fact he decided to dig the car out of the shed on Friday to try racing on the weekend.    He started this race 12th and drove to the victory and added the Kim Parsons Memorial Trophy to his memorabilia.


Troy Jerovetz drew the pole for the 30 lap IMCA Modiifed headliner  and claimed the lead with Dave Zeitler, Chad Bartel, Paul Parker, Tyler Hackett and Jay Matthias behind.   Bartel moved up a groove and took over second on lap 4.   Starting mid field, Brian Mullen decided to run the cushion left by the Sprints and scraping the wall began to advance on the leaders.

By lap 10, Jerovetz held a several length lead over Bartel,  Zietler was contending with Mullen, Parker, Marcus Yarie and Eric Scribner were in the mix right behind.  A lone caution appeared on lap 16 and erased the Jerovetz lead, stacking the field behind.

Mullen was the one to watch after the restart, as he continued to work the wall around the track, taking the route into second and was scored as the top car on lap 23.   On the next lap,  Mullen scraped in turn one and two, and the wall bit back a little harder in three and four as he jumped the ridge into the wall to break his momentum, dropping back into third as Jerovetz and Bartel slipped by on the inside.   Bartel moved outside again and moved into the lead on lap 25.   Bartel moved ahead and to the finish line winning the $2000 top prize for the race.  Jerovetz held off Yarie to take the runner up spot.    Mullen settled for fourth with Zeitler taking fifth.    Kyle Kudick had to make major repairs to the drive line after the heat race and despite some concerns at the start drove from the back to round out the top six.


The 50th Anniversary tour of the IRA Sprints saw Mike Kertscher hold off a hard last lap charge by new track record holder, Billy Balog, to win his first 410 feature of the year.    Full details will be found in the attached IRA release.


The final round of the Budweiser Summer Holiday Classic series will take place on Labor Day weekend, Sunday September 4th.


A full regular program will return to SRP this Sunday night with the Street Stocks, IMCA Sport Mods and Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars.

The Grand National Stock Cars will join the program this Sunday running a full program topped by a 20 lap main event.   Racing will start at 6 PM.



                                                            IMCA SPORT MODS

25 Lap Feature  l. Rob Krull,. Shawano  2. J.J. Andersen, Green Bay  3. Lucas Lamberies, Clintonville  4.Ron Besaw, Oshkosh   5. Hunter Parsons, Green Bay   6. Travis Arenz, Sheboygan

8 Lap Heats First  l. Scott Besaw, Oshkosh  2. Lamberies

Second  l. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg   2. Ron Besaw

Third  l. Kevin Bethke, Neenah   2. Arenz


                                                          IMCA MODIFIEDS

30 Lap Feature  l. Chad Bartel, Shiocton  2. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay   3. Marcus Yarie, Wausau   4. Brian Mullen, Seymour  5. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg   6. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers   7. Tyler Hackett, Algoma   8. Paul Parker, DePere   9. T.J. Smith, Menasha  10. Jamie Schmidt, Seymour

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Hackett   2. Yarie

Second  l. Parker   2. Bartel





Seymour July 3- 8:30 AM – Today, Sunday July 3rd, is going to be a great day and what better way to celebrate than taking in the Budweiser Summer Holiday Classic tonight at Seymour Raceway Park.   


The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Cars bring their 50th Anniversary Tour to SRP for the only time in 2016.  Bumper to Bumper of Seymour is the associate sponsor for this event.       

A full field is expected to compete and the series has posted a very competitive season so far.    

Scotty Neitzel is the most recent winner making a last lap charge to win his first feature this season at Manitowoc Friday night.    

Billy Balog, the winner here in the last IRA visit in 2014, is the series 7 time champion, and  is hot off a first career WOO Sprint Car feature win at Beaver Dam a week ago.  Balog will be returning Sunday to defend his victory.

These are just 2 of the star studded field expected to challenge the banked 1/3 mile clay oval.    Their last appearance also produced a spectacular non-stop 30 lap main event  that completed in just under 8 minutes.   


Joining the big night will be the first appearance of the IMCA Modifieds.            With the first Holiday Classic series event rained out on Memorial Day, this race will be the first of a now, 2 race series which will conclude on Labor Day weekend.  Tonights event will see a 30 lap feature top the night with $2000 to the winner out of over $21000 in posted awards.

The Modifieds will draw for heat positions and use passing points for the feature and final qualifying events.       This is IMCA Sanctioned.

Rounding out the field tonight will be the IMCA Sport Mods.    Their portion will use the normal weekly point average lineups.  It is a full point night.


Payoff will be made following the racing program.


The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars and Street Stock divisions do not compete tonight.


The pit opens at 3 PM

Late sign in and draw cutoff is at 5:15.

Pit entry is $25.00  (discounts for minors with proper paperwork on file)                     NO entry fees

Drivers meeting at 5:20

IRA Hot laps 5:30  followed by IMCA Modified hot laps.

IRA Qualiying at 6

Racing to follow

Grandstand opens at 4 PM

Adults 19-55 $20.00

Students 13-18 and seniors 55+  $15.00

Kids 12 and under FREE with paid adult.


Running order (subject to change)

IMCA Sport Mods

IRA Sprints

IMCA Modifieds


A full regular season lineup returns next Sunday, July 10, featuring the Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods and Street Stocks.  The Grand National Stock Cars will also be joining the fun next Sunday, with racing at 6 PM.


We hope to see you all tonight at Seymour Raceway Park for the Budweiser Summer Holiday Classic.     A great way to gear up for the BIG Celebrations tomorrow.


Page 10 of 81

Login Form