Friday, March 27, 2015
Text Size

Article Search

N.E.W. DIRT Presents 2012 Awards

Sunday, Feb 24-  N.E.W. DIRT officially closed the 2012 Seymour Speedway season by presenting awards to the top five drivers in each division and to the rookies Sunday afternoon  during a Daytona 500 event at Frank's Place on Main Street in Seymour.

The day featured the Daytona 500 on several big screens, free beer and lunch to go along with plenty of bench racing about the upcoming season.

The 4 Cylinder division sported 47 different drivers with 5 different feature winners.  Calvin Stueck dominated the season winning a record 11 features.   The total moved him to first on the all time win list with 14.  It was his first N.E.W. DIRT title.     Jeff Behm took second and claimed one feature win.   Tyler Hungerford, Jody Cornelius and Cody Hungerford rounded out the top 5.   Trent Nolan received Rookie honors.

The Street Stock division saw 51 different drivers with 8 winning features.   Travis Springstroh captured his first career track title, winning one feature and running consistantly in the top 5 all season.  He bested Gary Kasperek by 14 points after Kasperek held the point lead for most of the season.      Kasperek won  a division leading 6 features.   Jon Ashcraft was a 2 time feature winner and took third followed  by rookie Ryan Blank in 4th and Aaron Melchert in 5th.    Ryan Blank also claimed the rookie title.

The IMCA Sport Mod division had 53 different drivers  with 9 different feature winners.   2012 champion, Josh Long was a 2 time feature winner and was a consistant top 5 runner to claim his first track championship.   He took the title by 6 points, 520-514, over Jeremy Cota.  He ran to to a division leading 5 features and moved to first on the all time list with 8.   Defending champion, Brad Lautenbach ran to 2 feature wins and finished with 513 points in third place.    Tyler Wilson placed 4th and won his first 2 career features during the season.   Tyler Hackett rounded out the top 5.   Jordan Tuyls was crowned the Rookie of the Year.

IMCA Stock Cars had 54 different drivers with 4 winning features.   Brandon Czarapata led the way with a division leading and record 12 feature wins during the season.   The former 2 time champ  moved into 2nd on the all time win list with 23 and became the 3rd driver to win the tough division title 3 times.   Defending champion, Shawn Wagner, picked up 1 feature win and hounded Czarapata all season long.      Brian Ambrosius took third place in the standings with Jeremy Wiitala claiming 2 feature wins and taking fourth.  Mitch Stankowski was the long haul driver from Wausau every week and rounded out the top 5.  Josh Roehl was the rookie of the year.

The IMCA Modified had a club leading 58 different drivers during the season with 6 sharing the feature wins.   Former Street Stock and IMCA Stock Car champion, Jason Czarapata ran to his first Modified title running to a division leading 7 feature wins.  He becomes the first N.E.W. DIRT  driver to win titles in three different divisions.  Eric Arneson won his first career mod feature and placed 2nd.   Marcus Yarie was a consistant runner all year and took third followed by Jay Matthias in 4th and former 4 time champ, Benji LaCrosse rounding out the top 5. 

The first race of the season, the 4th annual Spring Thaw. is still scheduled for Saturday April 6.

The club will hold their next meeting on Monday, March 4, at 8 PM at the Crystal Springs Golf Club.    

Login Form