Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

Schmidt Survives Seymour IMCA Mod Crashfest

Click to see image gallery

10 Car Pileup Mars IMCA Mod Main

Seymour’s Jamie Schmidt dodged a 10 car pileup and passed Chris Engels of Green Bay on lap six to collect the 20 lap IMCA modified feature at Seymour Speedway Sunday night.

A total of 104 cars showed up to race, including 19 IMCA modifieds, 24 stock cars, 23 northern sportmods,22 street stocks and 14 4-bangers.

That massive 10 car pileup ensued on a lap three restart of the IMCA mod feature, which included the top two point men heading into the night: Points leader Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg and Seymour’s Mike Mullen. the race was red flagged and a 30 minute delay ensued as track crews worked to tear the battered race cars apart.

When racing resumed polesitter Chris Engels kept the lead. Both LaCrosse and Mike Mullen returned with their torn up machines to compete. Seymour’s Jamie Schmidt soared past Engels on the high side on lap seven and kept all challengers at bay for the balance of the contest to collect his first feature flag of the 2010 season.

Engels hung on for second place money. Mike Mullen recovered to finish third. Seymour’s Jerry Wilinski and LaCrosse rounded out the top five finishers.

Seymour’s Shawn Wagner netted a clean sweep of the IMCA stock car class, winning his heat and fending off arch rival Rod Snellenberger of Pulaski in a thrilling, 20 lap feature that went non stop without a yellow.

Snellenberger took second, followed by Gillett’s Kyle Frederick, Luxemburg’s Bill Kelsey and Bowler’s Greg Gutt.

De Pere’s Johnny Whitman swept action in the IMCA northern sportmods, winning both his heat and 20 lap feature. Whitman, who entered the night with the points lead 8 points ahead of arch rival Troy Jerovetz of Green Bay, caught a break when Jerovetz dropped out with motor problems halfway through the contest.

New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach mounted a late race charge but came up second, followed by Seymour’s Rod Solem, Black Creek’s Chad Guyette and Oconto Falls Eric Arneson.

Kaukauna’s Matt Drawenek swept action in the street stocks, winning his heat and the caution plagued, time shortened 18 lap street stock feature.

Krakow’s Josh Mroczkowski swept action in the sport four class.

Racing will continue Sunday August 15 as Bork Plastering of Appleton will be the sponsor. Racing starts at 6 p.m. The track phone is (920) 833-7726.



IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Chris Engels, Green Bay; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Scott Mullen, Seymour
HEATS – 1) Engels; Jerry Wilinski, Seymour 2) Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Schmidt 3) Tim Czarneski, Green Bay; Scott Mullen

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Shawn Wagner, Seymour; Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg; Greg Gutt, Bowler; Rick Dix, Green Bay
HEATS – 1) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Paul White, Green Bay 2) Rick Dix, Green Bay; Kyle Frederick, Gillett 3) Shawn Wagner, Seymour; Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Rod Solem, Seymour; Chad Guyette, Black Creek; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Brad Theys, Kewaunee
HEATS – 1) Chad Guyette; Kevin Birr, Krakow 2) Whitman; Kurt Moeller, Seymour 3) Marty Van De Hei, Seymour; Lautenbach

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna; Joe Schwister, Black Creek; Dan Gracyalny, Kaukauna; Derek Lecker, Black Creek; Phil Hiles, Appleton; Mert Summers, Wrightstown
HEATS – 1) Drawenek; Tony Everard, Green Bay 2) Aaron Melchert, Seymour; Schwister

4 BANGER FEATURE – Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow; Mark Gerrits, Freedom; Dan Juszcyk, Sobieski; Wayne Hansen, Krakow; Jody Cornelius, Oneida; Jesse Cullen, Chilton
HEATS – 1) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Corneilus 2) Mroczkowski; Josh Roehl, Appleton

Login Form