Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size

Berna Wins Summer Holiday Classic #2

Ron Berna :: IMCA Late Model feature winner (Seymour, WI)- "Rocket" Ron Berna started up front and never looked back in winning the 30 lap Late Model event. Kyle Frederick won his fourth straight IMCA Stockcar feature. Other winners on the night were, Brian Mullen in the IMCA Modifieds, Rod Solem in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Gary Kasperik in the Street Stocks, and Justin Vannieuwenhoven in the 4 Cylinders.

Ron Berna started on the pole in the Late Model feature and jumped out to a good lead. Tom Naeyaert would make his way to second and run the bottom while Berna would work the top. Berna would pull away from the field leaving the battle for second between Naeyaert and Paul Parker. On lap ten, Parker would make his way to second around Naeyaert and try to run down Berna. Two cautions would fly for solo spins with ten laps to go. Berna would Rocket off the line on the final restart taking home the trophy second Summer Holiday Classic. Paul Parker would have to settle for second. Naeyaert would finish third with Terry Anvelink fourth and Nick Anvelink fifth.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


Jay Matthias and Jamie Schmidt put on a side by side battle early on in the Budweiser IMCA Modified feature. Matthias would run the bottom with Schmidt up top. Schmidt would finally take control of the event and start to pull away. Brian Mullen and Jason Czarapata would gain second and third while a caution on lap 7 that would halt the field. On the restart, Schmidt, Mullen and Czarapata would all fun right next to the wall head to toe. Mullen and Czarapata would each try to shoot low through the corners but Schmidt would pull them off the corner always leading the lap. With seven laps to go Mullen found enough bite down low and would lead two consecutive laps. Schmidt would fight back up high to regain the lead with four to go. Coming to the white Mullen and Czarapata both made their way passed Schmidt. Czarapata would get a run off the corners but Mullen would pull ahead at the checkers picking up the win. Czarapata would finished second with early race leader Schmidt finishing third. Jay Matthias would finish fourth in his first run of the season at the speedway. Chad Bartel would round out the top five.

Kyle Fredericks and Shawn Wagner had finished first and second three consecutive weeks coming into the IMCA Stockcar feature. They both picked the top two spots in the main event. On the start, Fredericks would gain control and lead the opening four laps. Wagner would find his line in the middle of the track and pull even and eventually make the pass. Devin Snellenberger passed Fredericks for second and applied heavy pressure to Wagner for the lead. With Fredericks falling back to third he moved his car up to the topside of the racetrack. Fredericks would come back and take the lead from Wagner as they entered lapped traffic. On the white flag lap Fredericks would get stuck behind a lapped car and Wagner would get to his back bumper. Fredericks staged off the Wagner challenge and won his fourth straight feature at the speedway. Wagner would again finish second for the fourth straight week. Rod Snellenberger would run third, Larry Karcz Jr fourth and Jon Courchaine fifth.

The IMCA Northern Sportmods showed how to get around the track without throwing a caution flag in their feature event. Rod Solem would grab the lead early on in the feature event and pull away from the field. Solem would never go challenged as he would pick up his second win of the season. Eric Arneson would run the very top of the track and go from ninth to second in just eight laps. Arneson would only be able gain a few car lengths having him settle for second place money. Zeke Bishofberger finished third in his first run of the season. Tracy Wassenberg and Jeremy Cota would round out the top five.

On the opening lap of the Street Stock feature Frank Groeschel would flip his racer off of turn two. The driver was fine but the car would be towed off ending his night on the hook. When racing resumed Gary Kasperik made a three wide pass for the lead on the opening lap. Kasperik would lead but with constant pressure from Dan Gracyalny. Kasperik would eventually pull away from Gracyalny and pick up his first feature win of the season. The point leader, Gracyalny would finish second. Jerry Winkler charged from midpack to finish third. Matt Drawenek and Josh Novak who started on the front row finished fourth and fifth.

Justin Vannieuwenhoven would start on the front row and cruise into the lead with Josh Mroczkowski running right behind. Vannieuwenhoven would hold Mroczkowki at bay and pick up the win. Rounding out the top fiver were, Brian Johnson, Sam Ambrosius, and Dan Juszczyk.

Next Sunday Night Automotive supply with sponsor the night. Maddog and Merril will be having a cookout before the races. The five regular divisions will be in action. Racing gets started at 6 p.m.


Late Model Feature- 1. Ron Berna, Green Bay 2. Paul Parker, Appleton 3. Tom Naeyaert, Shawano 4. Terry Anvelink, Navarino 5. Nick Anvelink, Navarino

Heats- #1 1. Justin Ritchie, New London 2. Terry Anvelink #2 1. Nick Anvelink 2. Todd Frank, Seymour #3 1. Jim Schmidt, Cleveland 2. Brett Swedberg, Shawano


IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Brian Mullen, Seymour 2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 3. Jamie Schmidt, Seymour 4. Jay Matthias, DePere 5. Chad Bartel, Shiocton

Heats- #1 1. Jeremy Jacobs, Luxemburg 2. Mullen #2 1. Czarapata 2. Schmidt


IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Kyle Fredericks, Oconto Falls 2. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 3. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 4. Larry Karcz Jr, Pulaski 5. Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls

Consy- Barry Van Straten, Shiocton

Heats- #1 1. Karcz 2. Mitch Stankowki, Wausau #2 1. Wagner 2. Andy Kornowski, Green Bay #3 1. Courchaine 2. Snellenberger


IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Rod Solem, Seymour 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto falls 3. Zeke Bishofberger, Fort Atkinson 4. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano 5. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

Consy- 1.Mark Howe, Appleton

Heats- #1 1. Cota 2. Greg Wichman, Bonduel #2 1. Rob Charapata, Oconto 2. Kevin Bethke, Neenah #3 1. Bishofberger 2. Jake Solin, White Lake


Street Stock Feature- 1. Gary Kasperik, Tigerton 2. Dan Gracyalny, Little Chute 3. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh 4. Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna 5. Josh Novak, Appleton

Heats- #1 1. Derek Lecker, Black Creek 2. Novak #2 1. Gracyalny 2. Shawn Hayden, Appleton #3 1. Joe Schwister, Seymour 2. Phil Hiles, Appleton


4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Sobieski 2. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow 3. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 4. Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski 5. Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski

Heats- #1 1. Vannieuwenhoven 2. Juszczyk #2 1. Johnson 2. Jody Cornelius, Oneida

Login Form