Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size

Gracyalny and Johnson Secure Track Championships

(Seymour, WI)- 158 cars packed the pits to race the Summer Holiday Classic 3. Feature winners were Greg Nippoldt (Late Models) Shawn Kilgore (IMCA Modifieds) Brian Ambrosius (IMCA Stockcars) Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sportmods) Jerry Winkler (Street Stocks) and Tyler Hungerford ( 4 Cylinders)

Dan Gracyalny :: Street Stock Track Champion Brian Johnson :: 4 Cylinder Track Champion

Pete Parker used his front row starting spot to grab the early lead in the Late Model feature event. Greg Nippoldt would quickly run into second after a lap three caution. Nippoldt would use the restart to stay with Parker and work to the inside of him on lap six. Nippoldt would take the lead and cruise away to pick up the win in the feature event. Justin Ritchie would finish second after passing Parker with three laps to go. Parker would finish third with Nick Anvelink fourth and Jim Schmidt fifth.

James Tebon started third with Shawn Kilgore fifth in the IMCA Modified feature. By the end of lap one the duo was side by side for the lead. The two would breakaway from the field and stay number to number for the first ten laps of the race. Kilgore would finally take charge but with Benji LaCrosse making up ground on the leader. LaCrosse would move to the back bumper through turns one and two and then dive down low in turns three and four. Kilgore was able to keep the edge for the next eight laps. Kilgore would eventually pull away from LaCrosse and pick up the win in just his second night racing at the track on the season. LaCrosse would pick up second place money with Jamie Schmidt, Tebon and Brian Mullen rounding out the top 5.

Brian Ambrosius started on the outside pole of the IMCA Stockcar feature event and would build up a huge lead before a caution would regroup the field on lap six. On the restart, Ambrosius would pull away from the field yet again. Kyle Frederick would eventually make his way to second and try to reel in Ambrosius but to no avail. Ambrosius would win his fourth straight feature by about half a straightaway over the second place Frederick. Mike Schmidt would run third in his first run of the season. Larry Karcz finished fourth and Mark Schuenemann fifth.

Christopher Budzban would run up on top of the racetrack to a comfortable lead early in the IMCA Sportmod main. Budzban would continue to lead until Eric Mahlik would make a run at him after a lap four caution. Mahlik would put heavy pressure inside with Jeremy Cota right behind. Mahlik and Cota worked around Budzban on lap 7 and got away from the rest of the field. Mahlik seemed to have the win in hand but a bobble coming to the white flag gave Cota the inside lane. Cota shot underneath Mahlik and cleared him off of turn two. Cota would stage off the last advances and pick up his second win of the season. Brad Theys and Mark Joski would pass Mahlik on the final corner for third and fourth. With Mahlik fourth, Brad Lautenbach would finish fifth.

Phil Hiles was the man to beat in the Street Stock feature event. After an early race duel with Jerry Winkler, Hiles would mount a lead over Winkler. With the win in hand things took a downward turn for Hiles. Coming to pass a lapped car in Tony Schwamer, Schwamer shot down the track and into the race leader sending both onto the infield and thus bringing out a caution. Hiles would have received his spot back for not causing the caution but had to go down pit lane after suffering a flat right front tire . Winkler would inherit the lead on the caution and never look back in winning his second feature of the season. Matt Drawenek, Brandon Riedner, Dan Gracyalny and Joe Schwister would round out the top five. By virtue of his fourth place finish, Gracyalny claimed the 2011 Street Stock Championship.

Tyler Hungerford picked up the 4 cylinder feature event. Brian Johnson not only took second place but captured his second straight 4 Cylinder championship.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


The final race of the 2011 season will take place on Saturday, October 1st. The regular five divisions will be racing plus Grand Nationals and Late Models Along with Spectator Eliminator, Bring a helmet and your car and come race your ride!  Gates open at 12:30, Racing will get under way at 2pm.

Late Model Feature- 1. Greg Nippoldt, Roberts 2. Justin Ritchie, New London 3. Pete Parker, Kaukana 4. Nick Anvelink, Navarino 5. Jim Schmidt, Cleveland

Consy- 1. Paul Parker  Heats- #1 1. Gordie Seegert Jr,  #2 1. Troy Springborn, Shawano  #3 1. Ron Berna, Green Bay

IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 3. Jamie Schmidt, Seymour 4. James Tebon, Algoma 5. Brian Mullen, Seymour

Consy- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski

Heats- #1 1. Dave Zeitler, Luxemburg #2 1. Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont #3 1. Kilgore

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski 2. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 3. Mike Schmidt, Shawano 4. Larry Karcz, Pulaski 5. Mark Schuenemann, Bolder Junction

Consy- 1. Troy Muench, Brussels

Heats- #1 1. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton

#2 1. Larry Parshen, Shawano

#3 1. Harley Simon, Seymour

IMCA Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Brad Theys, Luxemburg 3. Mark Joski, New Franken 4. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 5. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

Consy- #1 1. Tyler Hackett, Algoma

#2 1. Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

Heats- #1 1. Theys

#2 1. Lautenbach

#3 1. Chad Kaminski, Luxemburg

#4 1. J.J. Anderson, Pulaski

Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh 2. Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna 3. Brandon Riedner, Waunakee 4. Dan Gracyalny, Little Chute 5. Joe Schwister, Seymour

Consy #1 1. Dion Wahl, Omro

#2 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton

Heats- #1 1. Phil Hiles, Appleton

#2 1. Eric Derks, Hollandtown

#3 1. Gracyalny

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom 2. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 3. Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Sobieski 4. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 5. Jeff Behm, Clintonville

Heats- #1 1. Johnson

#2 1. Cody Hungerford, Little


Login Form