Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

Kasperek Stays Red Hot at Seymour Super Speedway

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Racing matched the weather Sunday Night at Seymour Super Speedway. Gary Kasperek only knows victory lane so far in the 2012 racing season in the Street Stocks. He has won all three main events this season. Other winners from Sunday included Jason Czarapata (IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) Josh Long (IMCA Sportmods) Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders).

Mert Summers led through three race cautions in the first two laps of the Street Stock race. The race was then halted to work the track. When racing resumed, Jon Ashcraft would get the lead from Summers with Phil Hiles and Gary Kasperek in the top four. Hiles and Kasperek would show the dominance in the class as they would run to the lead. With Kasperek on the bottom, Hiles was forced to run the top. Kasperek would keep the lead by running down low and keep his feature win streak in tact to start the season. With a perfect three for three on the season Kasperek is the point leader. Hiles, Summers, Joe Schwister and Aaron Melchert were the top five.

Cody Hokenstad and Tyler Wilson would lead the first couple of laps in the IMCA Northern Sportmod Main. Brad Theys and Eric Mahlik would quickly get to the back of Wilson. With Theys running the bottom he would grab the lead. As soon as Theys grabbed the lead Eric Mahlik would make a three-wide pass for the lead. Mahlik would continue to lead until a lap ten caution. Mahlik would have to go down pit lane for a door panel that was deemed unsafe for racing conditions. Josh Long and Kurt Moeller would use the caution to their advantage and restart right behind Theys. Long would make the move to the lead down low with Moeller right behind. Moeller would run the top but never make a strong enough charge. Long would grab first place money with Moeller settling for second. Theys wound up third with Tyler Hackett and Jeremy Cota in the top five.

Josh Mroczkowski and Greg Wichman started up front in the IMCA Stockcar main event and waged an impressive early race war. The duo would keep it even for the first six laps until Wichman finally took command. Kyle Frederick and Brandon Czarapata would get to the top three by the caution flag on lap ten. Frederick and Czarapata would eventually make the trip around Wichman for the top spots. Czarapata would run the bottom with Frederick up top. Czarapata would use the shortest way around the track, running the bottom to gain the lead. He would pull away for the win, extending his point lead. Frederick would lose second to Larry Karcz Jr late in the race. Shawn Wagner would finish in the fourth spot with Bill Kelsey fifth.

Tony Wedelstadt looked like victory would be his early in the IMCA Modified Feature. Wedelstadt would dominate the early part until a caution on lap six brought Jason Czarapata and Eric Arneson to his back bumper. On the restart, both Czarapata and Arneson found their way around Wedelstadt. Czarapata would run with Arneson for a few laps before jetting out to a full straightaway win over Arneson. Czarapata would win by half a lap over third place finisher Benji LaCrosse. Wedelstadt would salvage a top four. James Tebon would come from 22nd starting spot to finish fifth.

Calvin Stueck won a caution filled 4 Cylinder Feature. Stueck would out duel point leader Jeff Behm to the checkers. Mike Montie finished third. Brian Johnson finished fourth after starting in dead last, 17th position. Cody Hungerford rounded out the top five.

Next Sunday Night racing will start at 5 p.m. for the last time. The following week May 27th, racing will start at 6 p.m. for the remainder of the season. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS Address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is 1-920-833-7726. You can contact Cosmo at 1-920-420-8838.


IMCA Modified feature- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 3. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 4. Tony Wedelstadt, New London 5. James Tebon, Algoma

Heats- #1 1. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 2. Lacrosse
#2 1. Brian Mullen, Seymour 2. Mike Mullen, Seymour

IMCA Stock Car feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Larry Karcz, Pulaski 3. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 4. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 5. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg

Consy- #1 Scott Prooyen, Birmangwood
#2 Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski

Heats- #11. Karcz 2. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow
#21. Greg Wichman, Bonduel 2. Chas Vanooyen, Appleton
#31. Andy Kornowski, Green Bay 2. Kelsey
#41. Charapata 2. Frederick

IMCA Sport Mod feature 1. Josh Long, Green Bay 2. Kurt Moeller, Seymour 3. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 4. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 5. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

Heats-#11. Moeller 2. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay
#21. Theys 2. Robert Krull, Navarino

Street Stock feature 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Phil Hiles, Appleton 3. Mert Summers, DePere 4. Joe Schwister, Seymour 5. Aaron Melchert, Seymour

Heats- #11. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh 2. Melchert
#21. Hiles 2. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh

Four Cylinder Feature 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Jeff Behm, Clintonville 3. Mike Montie, Abrams 4. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 5. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute

Heats- #11. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom 2. Branden Goeser, Chilton
#2 1. Stueck 2. Ralph Liegeois Jr., Oconto

Login Form