Thursday, March 30, 2017
Text Size

Frederick Fends off the field at Seymour Super Speedway

Kyle Frederick won the IMCA Stockcar main event after heavy pressure from Shawn Wagner throughout the race. Other winners were: Brian Mullen (IMCA Modifieds) Jason Guyette (IMCA Sportmods) Jon Ashcraft (Street Stocks) and Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders)

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Jason Guyette started fourth on the field and shot between the front row to lead lap one. Guyette would be out for a Sunday night cruise and leave the tight battle for second. Tyler Hackett and Brad Lautenbach would make their respective ways to second and third and wage a great battle for second. Lautenbach would shadow Hackett on the top of the track but continuously try to make the pass down on the bottom. A ten car length lead would be erased with a lap ten caution. On the restart, Guyette would pull out and cruise to his first feature win of the season. Lautenbach would finally get enough bite down low off of corner four to beat Hackett for second by a bumper. Josh Long finished fourth with point leader Jeremy Cota fifth.

Joe Schwister would grab the lead in the Street Stock main event after two cautions on lap one kept the race from staying green. One of the cautions would end the night of point leader Gary Kasperek. Schwister would lead Mert Summers once racing got underway with the top two running nose to tail. On lap six, a caution would send Summers to the back of the field after heavy contact with Phil Hiles. Although Schwister would continue to dominant the race, on lap 11 mechanical woes would sideline the leader. Jon Ashcraft would inherit the lead . Ashcraft would fight off the advances of Travis Springstroh in the late stages to win his second straight feature. Aaron Melchert, Jerry Winkler and Patti Winkler rounded out the top five.

Roger VanRoy would spin on lap one exiting turn two to start a melee in the IMCA Modified feature. VanRoy’s spin would take out six cars including Benji LaCrosse and point leader Jason Czarapata. Czarapata’s night would end on the hook. Brian Mullen would use the pole position after the caution to jump out and never look back in winning his second feature of the season. Son, Mike Mullen would pass Eric Arneson for second but would not be able to run down his dad. Justin Richie and Shawn Frelich would be the rest of the top five. A nasty flip by Beaver Dam’s Matt Rechek in the heat race ended his night early. Rechek was fine but the racecar sustained heavy damage.

Barry VanStraten darted from third to the lead on lap one of the IMCA Stockcar main. Kyle Frederick would run from eighth to second in three laps. Frederick would stay right on the top of the track and make a sweeping pass on lap six for the lead. Shawn Wagner would make his way to second on lap ten. A lap fourteen caution put Wagner right on the back bumper of Frederick. Over the final six laps, Wagner used every line on the track but couldn’t find away around the 2011 champion. Frederick won his second feature of the season. Wagner would settle for runner-up points.
Point leader Brandon Czarapata finished third only losing one point to Wagner in the standings. Brian Ambrosius would wind up fourth after starting fourteenth. Greg Wichman rounded out the top five.

Tyler Hungerford led from the drop of the green flag in the 4 Cylinder feature. Calvin Stueck would quickly make his way to second and run down Hungerford. Stueck would eventually work his racer up high and make the last corner pass on Hungerford for the win.

Next sunday night, June 10th, racing will again start at 6 p.m. The regular five divisions will be running a normal points night. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is 1-920-833-7726. You can contact Cosmo at 1-920-420-8838.


IMCA Modified Feature
1. Brian Mullen, Seymour 2. Mike Mullen, Seymour 3. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 4. Justin Richie, New London 5. Shawn Frelich, Kaukauna

#1 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 2. M Mullen
#2 1. B Mullen 2. Jay Matthias, DePere

IMCA Stockcar Feature
1. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 2. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 3. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 4. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski 5. Greg Wichman, Bonduel

#1 1. Frederick 2. Czarapata
#2 1. Wichman 2. Andy Kornowski, Green Bay

IMCA Sportmod Feature
1. Jason Guyette, Black Creek 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 4. Josh Long, Green Bay 4. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

#1 1. Lautenbach 2. Todd Wiese, Algoma
#2 1. Guyette 2. Long

Street Stock Feature
1. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh 2. Travis Springstroh, Freedom 3. Aaron Melchert, Seymour 4. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh 5. Patti Winkler, Oshkosh

#1 1. P Winkler 2. Ryan Long, Neenah
#2 1. Joe Schwister, Seymour 2. Bob Czarapata, Krakow

4 Cylinder Feature
1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom 3. Jody Cornelius, Oneida 4. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute 5. Matt Brehmer, Pulaski

#1 1. Stueck 2. Brehmer
#2 1. Jeff Behm, Clintonville 2. T Hungerford

Login Form