Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

August 25 Results

By Edward Anschutz

(Seymour, WI) August 25, 2013 Results- Patty Winkler held off Ryan Blank score her first Street Stock feature at Seymour Super Speedway. Winkler became only the second female to ever win a feature in the 30 years of N.E.W. Dirt. Other feature winners were Benji Lacrosse (IMCA Modified), Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stock Car), Josh Long (IMCA Sport Mod) and Calvin Stueck (Sport Fours). The Faster Pastor race was won by Lavern Bunnell of United Methodist. Spectator Eliminator win went to Joel Schmidt.

A grand total of 96 race cars were on hand. We had 25 Stock Cars, 21 Sport Fours, 18 Sport Mods, 16 Modifieds and 16 Street Stocks. Next Sunday will feature the WDLMA Late Models for the Summer Holiday Classic. All divisions will be in action with the final point night for the Street Stocks and Sport Fours. This is the final event of the 2013 season.

Frank Groeschel flew to the top spot as the green dropped for the Street Stock feature. Last weeks winner Ryan Blank set a blistering pace over taking Groeschel for the lead on lap 5. Patty Winkler raced to the runner up spot and began to chase down Blank. Winkler worked the low groove and to the lead with 8 laps remaining. Blank kept constant pressure on Winkler but she was up for the challenge holding on to take the checkers, much to the enjoyment of the crowd. Blank had to settle for second, Mert Summers is still in the title hunt with a third place finish, Phil Hiles placed fourth in his first race of the season and Jeff Dorschner completed the top five.

Brandon Czarapata capped off another stellar season by scoring his 8th feature win of the season in the IMCA Stock Cars. Czarapata passed Mitch Stankowski at the midway point and cruised to a clean sweep.

All eyes were focused on Stock Car point leader JJ Heinz . Heinz came into the night with a 1 point advantage over Rod Snellenberger. The duo stayed locked together the entire race, most of which saw Snellenberger on the rear bumper of Heinz as they ran the low groove. With 5 laps remaining Snellenberger moved up to the middle groove in desperation to get by Heinz. Snellenberger inched closer as the white flag came down. Any chance at a last lap pass was wiped away when Rookie of the Year winner Travis Springstroh went barrel rolling out of turn 4 resulting in a red flag, he merged shaken but ok. Since Czarapata had taken the white the flag, the race was over giving the championship to Heinz. It was Heinz’s second title of the season after winning it at 141 Speedway the last night. Jeremy Wiitala finished out a solid season placing second at the finish line, Bill Kelsey was third followed by Heinz and Snellenberger.

The IMCA Sport Mods were next to crown a champion as Jeremy Cota came into the night with a 9 point edge over Cody Hokenstad and Tracy Wassenberg. That group immediately became to a two horse race with Wassenberg deciding not to race the final night. Beau Handschke looked to be the next first time winner as he drove away from the field, opening up a straight away lead. Cota’s claim for the crown was lost as he suffered a flat tire, sending him pit side. Cota went several laps down as his title hopes vanished. Last weeks winner Josh Long caught Handschke and was able to use a cross over move to take the lead with just a handful of laps remaining. Long led the rest of the way picking up the win. Hokenstad placed second and earned his first career track title. Handschke had a career best third with JJ Anderson and Hunter Parsons rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Modified title was a little less anticlimactic with Jason Czarapata just having to take the green flag to win the title. The championship was his second in a row at Seymour. With the Mod main underway  Troy Jerovetz flew by Jamie Schmidt for the lead on lap 6. Benji LaCrosse blasted through the field whisking by Jerovetz on lap 10. LaCrosse led the remainder of the contest with a dominating performance. LaCrosse also won the night before at 141 Speedway. Second went to Czarapata, Jerovetz was third, Jay Matthias rallied to fourth after a trip down pit lane and Eric Arneson was fifth. .    
Calvin Stueck claimed his 6th feature of the season in the Sport Fours with a victory over Brian Johnson and early leader Patrick Klawitter. Stueck leads the standings going into the final night.  


20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; 2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 3. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; 4. Jay Matthias, Green Bay; 5. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

HEAT 1: Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee; Arneson
HEAT 2: Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Jerovetz

20 LAP COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton; 2. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay; 3. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg; 4. JJ Heinz, Green Bay; 5. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

HEAT 1: Kevin Hebbe, Neenah; Heinz
HEAT 2: Brandon Czarapata; Wade Voegtline, Green Bay
HEAT 3: Mitch Stankowski, Wausau; Bob Czarapata, Krakow
LCQ 1: Tom Riehl, Hortonville; Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls

1. Josh Long, Green Bay; 2. Cody Hokenstad, Shawano; 3. Beau Handschke, New London; 4. JJ Anderson, Pulaski; 5. Hunter Parsons, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Parsons; Hokenstad
HEAT 2: Robby Thiel, Appleton; Anderson

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Patty Winkler, Larsen; 2. Ryan Blank, Greenville; 3. Mert Summers, Wrightstown; 4. Phil Hiles, Appleton; 5. Jeff Dorschner, Combine Locks

HEAT 1: Blank; Frank Groeschel, Menasha
HEAT 2: Derek Lecker, Black Creek; Dorschner

1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 2. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; 3. Patrick Klawitter, Berlin; 4. Jason Fairbank, Fond Du Lac; 5. Carl King, Shawano

HEAT 1: Johnson; Andrew Meyerhofer, Kaukauna
HEAT 2: J. Fairbank; Dean Dekeyser, Pulaski
HEAT 3: Klawitter; Stueck

Login Form