Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Text Size

Holiday Classic results, June 30, 2013

By Edward Anschutz

(Seymour, WI) June 30, 2013 Results- Mike Coel won a wild feature in the IMCA Stock Cars at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Troy Jerovetz (IMCA Modified), Troy Springborn (WDLMA Late Model), Cody Hokenstad (IMCA Sport Mod), Jerry Winkler (Street Stock) and Tyler Hungerford (Sport Fours) A total of 121 cars were in action for Shiocton Automotive night. 


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


When the IMCA Stock Car main event rolled out and the redraw put Rod Snellenberger and John Heinz on the front row, most race fans thought for sure one of the two would take home the Kim Parsons Memorial trophy. Snellenberger grabbed the lead at the drop of the green with Heinz applying heavy pressure. Snellenberger was able keep the field in the rearview as they raced past the midway point. Heinz second with Mike Coel holding down third. Snellenberger appeared to have the race in hand but a caution setup a 5 lap dash to the checker. As the race restarted Snellenberger chose to use the low line to hold off Heinz this allowed Coel to work to the outside of the leader and with 2 laps remaining Coel cruised by Snellenberger and took the win in thrilling fashion. Heinz snuck by for second, Snellenberger was forced to settle for third, Kyle Fredrick placed fourth and Bill Kelsey completed the top five. 

Point leader Jason Czarapata and Troy Jerovetz paced the front row of the IMCA Modified feature and when the green dropped the duo sped away from the field with Jerovetz on point. At the midway mark Jay Matthias moved into second, Lance Arneson and out of state visitor Kyle Strickler battled for fourth. As Jerovetz encountered lap traffic Czarapata made his move closing on in the leader. With the white flag in the air Czarapata worked to the inside of Jerovetz as they went down the backstretch. With the checker flag in sight the duo raced door to door out of turn 4 with Jerovetz beating Czarapata to the finish line by a mere 3 feet. It was the third feature win of the weekend for Jerovetz who won at 141 Speedway on Wednesday and at Oshkosh Speedzone on Friday. Czarapata put the fans on the edge of their seat with his second place finish, Matthias was third, Strickler placed fourth in his first ever run at Seymour and Arneson rounded out the top five. The Modified main went green to checker.  

Ron Berna paced the opening laps of the WDLMA Late Model main before Troy Springborn slipped by and to the lead. Springborn sprinted away from the field, Nick Anvelink worked to second and began to chop away at the huge lead Springborn had built. Anvelink closed the gap within 2 car lengths but that’s as close as he got as Springborn scored the win, Anvelink second, Justin Ritchie made a late race charge to third, Berna was fourth and Justin Schmidt was the hard charger of the race placing fifth after starting in row 8. The 30 lap contest went green to checker in under 8 minutes. 

Cody Hokenstad worked past Jeremy Cota and never looked back scoring his second feature of the season in the IMCA Sport Mods. Cota shook off his bad luck with second, point contender Rob Charapata was third, point leader Tracy Wassenberg was fourth and Aaron Muhle marched from row 8 to fifth. 

Jerry Winkler won his 4th feature of the year in the Street Stocks. Jerry Kope was second, point leader Jon Ascraft was third, Patty Winkler had another good run with fourth and Lexii Ashcraft completed the top five. 

Matt Kaye looked to have the Sport Four feature in hand until his right front wheel broke off ending his night. Point leader Tyler Hungerford inherited the lead and never looked back picking up his first win of the season. Calvin Stueck scored second, Jeff Behm was third, Dalton Nelson in his first run of the season was fourth and Cody Hungerford raced to fifth, 


20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; 2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 3. Jay Matthias, Green Bay; 4. Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, NC; 5. Lance Arneson, Krakow

HEAT 1: Chad Bartel, Shiocton; T. Jerovetz
HEAT 2: Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico 
HEAT 3: Matthias; L. Arneson

20 LAP COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Mike Coel, Green Bay; 2. JJ Heinz, Green Bay; 3. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; 4. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 5.  Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg

HEAT 1: Heinz; David Hoerning, Appleton
HEAT 2: Coel; Fredrick
HEAT 3: Larry Karcz Jr., Pulaski; Joe Schwister, Seymour

30 LAP WDLMA LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Troy Springborn, Shawano; 2. Nick Anvelink, Navarino; 3. Justin Ritchie, New London; 4. Ron Berna, Shawano; 5. Justin Schmidt, Cleveland 

HEAT 1: Springborn; Tim Buhler, Greenbush
HEAT 2: Berna; Cody Gross Grosskreutz, Clintonville
HEAT 3: Anvelink; Ritchie 

20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Cody Hokenstad, Shawano; 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 3. Rob Charapata, Oconto; 4. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; 5. Aaron Muhle, Beaver Dam

HEAT 1: Charapata; Tyler Weise, Pulaski
HEAT 2: Wassenberg; Cota

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh; 2. Jerry Kope, Oshkosh; 3. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 4. Patty Winkler, Fond du Lac; 5. Lexii Ashcraft, Oshkosh 

HEAT 1: Winkler; J. Ashcraft
HEAT 2: L. Ashcraft; Ryan Blank, Greenville

15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1 Tyler Hungerford, Freedom.; 2. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 3. Jeff Behm, Clintonville; 4. Dalton Nelson, Shawano; 5. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute

HEAT 1: Stueck; Nelson
HEAT 2: Behm; Matt Kaye, Green Bay 

Login Form