Friday, March 27, 2015
Text Size

Article Search

Mod Tour makes first visit as racing returns Sunday August 4 to Seymour Speedway

Seymour, August 3- The Seymour Speedway is set to return to racing action, tomorrow, Sunday August 4, following a week off because of the Outagamie County Fair.

The return will see the first ever visit to the 1/3 mile banked clay oval of the Badger Modified Tour series. A field of 40 cars is expected by series officials, and with most of the drivers familiar with the track, it should be a very competitive program, topped by a 30 lap feature. Because this is a Tour event, there will be no IMCA or track points awarded.

Also returning to action with full point programs will be the Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, Street Stocks and 4 Cylinders.

Entering the final month of racing, even though the Modifieds are not point racing this week, the Budweiser IMCA modified division has defending champion, Jason Czarapata sitting in first place holding a 403-381 margin over rookie contender, Troy Jerovetz. Czarapata has one feature win to his credit and Jerovetz has collected two. Third place, only one mark behind Jerovetz, is Jay Matthias who also has 2 marks in the win column this season so far. Marcus Yarie and Jerry Wilinski are 31 and 32 points behind the leader to round out the top 5.

The Coors Light IMCA Stock Car division sees a familiar face at the top of the stands. Former 5 time champ, Rod Snellenberger holds a slim 4 point margin over rival, John Heinz. Snellenberger has yet to be in victory lane this season here, but is looking for his first title run since 2008. Heinz has one feature win here this year and is looking for that elusive N.E.W. DIRT track title. This is a battle that will go to the final night. Jeremy Wiitala, Barry Van Straten and Kyle Frederick make up the top 5.

The top six drivers in the IMCA Sport Mod division have won 10 0f the 12 feature run this season. Sitting on top is Tracy Wassenberg with 3 feature wins, 16 points ahead of Jeremy Cota with 4 feature flags. Rookie, Cody Hockenstad has been impressive collecting 2 feature wins here and 1s 24 marks behind the leader. J.J. Andersen is fourth and Rob Charapata still holds 5th even though he has been out the last couple weeks waiting for his new car to move up the the Modifieds. Aaron Muehl is 6th also with 1 feature win. With defending champ, Josh Long, not running weekly, the door is open for our 6th different title holder.

The Street Stock division has always been very competitive at Seymour. In the 26 years the division has run there have only been three repeat title holders. This year will see the 27 different champion as last years champ, Travis Springstroh has moved to the IMCA Stock Car division. Jon Ashcraft sits in first place holding a 16 point margin over Mert Summers. Lexi Ashcraft is third 19 marks back with Alan Schluetter 25 behind and Jerry Winkler 50 back. Winkler has won a division leading 5 features with Jon Ashcraft the only other in the top 5 with one feature win.

Tyler Hungerford has paced the 4 Cylinder division all season long and with one feature win holds a slim 4 point lead over defending title holder Calvin Stueck. He was picked up three feature wins and is looking for a second straight title. It would be a first career Seymour title for Hungerford. Rounding out the top 5 are Brandon Kaye, Carl King and Taylor Becher.

The final point nights will be August 25 for the three IMCA divisions and September 1st for the Street and 4 Cylinders.

Along with the full night of action, Kelsey Coatings and 1st Choice Auto of Green Bay are the title sponsors. They will also host the Kids Club activities with a Bike Give Away and Coin Toss.

The Pit opens at 3 PM and the late sign in for the weekly cars is still 5 PM with the Mod Tour cars at 5:30.

Pit passes are $25 for the mod Tour and regular 18/25 for the weekly classes.

Grandstand opens at 4 PM with Special admission at $15. for adults, Seniors 55 and up- Students 13- 18 $10. Kids 12 and under are FREE with paid adult.

Racing will start at 6 PM….SHARP!

The weather should be perfect for this BIG night as racing returns to the Seymour Speedway.

Login Form