Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

June 8 Results

Seymour, June 8- On a perfect night, PC Sanitation presented a full 5 division racing program Sunday at the Seymour Speedway,  that produced three first time winners at the1/3 mile banked clay oval.

Joey Taycher assumed the lead in the IMCA Sport Mod main at the start  and after a lone caution on lap 3, took control and ran away from the field the rest of the distance.    Dennis Meisler, Lucas Lamberies, Jordan Barkholtz and Jordan Tuyls bunched behind running two and thre side chasing the leader.

Tycher picked up his first feature win of the season with Lamberies taking the runner up finish.  Jordan Barkholtz,  Meisler,  Jessi Ness and Kevin Bethke rounded out the top 6.

The Turbo Blue Street Stock event went red on the opening lap when the car of Derik Lecker got turned around in turn 2 and slammed into the outside wall at the track exit, moving several blocks, requiring about 15 minutes to replace.  Ryan Blank took up the lead position once the race started with Alan Schlueter,  Lexi Ashcraft, Justin Lindner Jeff Dorschner and Jerry Winkler behind.  

The pack stayed bunched but positions changed several time with Blank holding the top spot until Ken Nelson hit the same spot at the track exit head on, resulting in another red flag on lap 9 to replace  the blocks again.    Blank again held the top spot on the restart with Winkler making a move to the front taking second from Ashcraft, with Lindner following into 4th.    Ashcraft brought out the final caution  when her car got too wide in turn 2 and scraped the wall, sending her car into, you guessed it, the same spot again at the track exit on lap 12.   Only a few tires had to be put back  so the caution  was quick. Fortunately, none of the three drivers that attacked the wall were injured.  

 But the field was now bunched on Blank.   Lindner moved inside and took second from Winkler on the restart with last weeks winner, Jeff Jungwith  moving into third.    With time expiring Lindner made a move to the inside of Blank out of turn 2 and took the lead as the white flag was displayed.   Jungwirth followed and took the runner up spot at the finish with Blank holding on to third ahead of Jon Ashcraft, Winkler and Schlueter.   The win would have been Lindners first ever at Seymour, but a post race inspection found  an illegal tire, which gave the win to Jungwirth , his second straight and moved Dorschner into the 6th spot.

Te Budweiser IMCA Modifieds put 23 cars on the feature grid with T.J. Smith grabbing the lead at the start with Tyler Wilson, Tony Wedelstadt, Travis Spaulding and Brad Lautenbach behind.   Smith hooked up on the outer groove and maintain a couple length lead as the battle was tight right behind for position.   Lautenbach moved into the runner up spot on lap 10 and set out to close in on the leader.    A lone caution on lap 13 bunched the field on Smith, with Lautenbach, Jason Czarapata,  Wilson, Jay Matthias and Spaulding right behind.   Smith again took to the high side on the restart with Lautenbach also up a groove.   Czarapata,  took up the lower groove and in 2 laps took the lead from Smith and drove off to his first feature win of the season.  Lautenbach worked by Smith on the white flag lap to take the second place finish.   Chad Bartel made a late race move that netted him fourth with Matthias taking fifth and Mike Wedelstadt sixth.

The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars ran a fast paced flag to flag event with Josh Mroczkowski taking the initial lead with Jow Schwister, Bill Kelsey, Chas Van Ooyen and Harley Simon  behind.   Right from the start the pack ran three and four wide from front to back.    Kelsey moved up to take over the lead on lap  5 with Rod Snellenberger following into the runner up spot.  Both Kelsey and Snellenberger were working in the low groove and Mroczkowski was committed to staying high.   The two leader pulled away by a couple car lengths, but Mroczkowski suddenly came back to life and charged alongside the leaders making it a three wide battle for the lead for 2 laps before Snellenberger took charge on lap 10.   For the rest of the race, Mroczkowski  stayed with Snellenberger almost side by side, but Snellenberger held on to win his first feature of the season which was also hi 195 career.  Van Ooyen was third with Travis Van Straten taking fourth, Jeremy Wiitala fifth and Barry Van Straten finished sixth.

Trever Saulding set the early pace for the 4 Cylinder finale with Brad Prahl, Brad Wedde, Tyler Hungerford and Brandon Kaye behind. Wedde moved into the lead on lap3 and a lone caution slowed the pace one lap later.    On the restart, Wedde began to pull away from the field battling for the runner up spot.   Wedde ran to his third feature win of the season with Kasey Gross making a run though the field to place second.   Carl King took third with Prahl in fourth, Chris Maas taking fifth and Cody Hungerford in sixth. 

Next Sunday will be Father’s Day at the Seymour Speedway and will be sponsored by Coors Light.    The kids club will also have a bike Give Away sponsored by Gold Star Racing Products.

The Seymour Speedway is proud to be a featured member track of, a website dedicated to bringing fans the best possible coverage of local short track racing.

                                                BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIEDS

20 Lap Feature  l.  Jason Czarapata   2. Brad Lautenbach  3. T.J. Smith  4. Chad Bartel  5. Jay Matthias   6. Mike Wedelstadt

8 Lasp heat  First  l. Tyler Wilson  2. Bartel

Second  l. Lautenbach   2. Eric Mahlik

Third l. Czarapata   2. Smith

                                                COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

20 Lap Feature  l. Rod Snellenberger  2. Josh Mroczkowski  3. Chas Van Ooyen   4., Travis Van Straten  5. Jeremy Wiitala 6. Barry Van Straten

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Justin Jacobsen   2., Mroczkowski

Second  l. Van Ooyen   2, Bill Kelsey

Third l. Travis Van Straten   2. John Heinz

                                    TURBO BLUE STREET STOCKS

16 Lap Feature (time limit)   l. Jeff Jungwirth  2. Ryan Blank  3. Jon Ashcraft   4. Jerry Winkler   5. Alan Schlueter  6. Jeff Dorschner

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Winkler   2. Derek Lecker

Second  l. Justin Lindner  2. Lexi Ashcraft

                                                            IMCA SPORT MODS

20 Lap Feature   1. Joey Taycher   2. Lukas Lamberies   3. Jordan Barkholtz   4. Dennis Meisler   5. Jessi Ness   6. Kevin Bethke

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Lamberies  2., Jordan Tuyls

Second  l. Taycher   2. Bethke

                                                            4 CYLINDER

15 Lap Feature  l. Brad Wedde  2. Kasey Gross   3. Carl King   4. Brad Prahl   5. Chris Maas   6. Cody Hungerford

8 Lap Heats  First l. Trever Spaulding   2. Tyler Hungerford

Second  l. Gross   2. Cody Hungerford

Login Form