Friday, March 24, 2017
Text Size

Summer Holiday Classic results June 29

Seymour, June 29- A mid morning shower made things questionable for Sunday night, but the weather broke into a beautiful afternoon and night for the second leg of the Summer Holiday Classic series to be contested on a smooth fast 1/3 mile banked oval at the Seymour Speedway.

The program was sponsored by Frank’s Place in Seymour.    Along with the five weekly divisions, the WDLMA Late Models were on hand along with the Spectator Eliminators for a full night of action.

The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars kicked off the feature portion of the program with Chris Loewenhagen setting the pace for the first 2 laps before Phil Hiles took a turn for one circuit before Brandon Czarapata drove between the front pair on lap 4 to take the lead.  Once in front, Czarapata pulled away from a battle for second with Barry Van Straten, Justin Jacobsen, Chas Van Ooyen, Jr,  Travis Van Straten and Rod Snellenberger.   Barry Van Straten moved into the runner up spot  on lap 6 and started to close the gap on the leader.   On lap 13, a caution for debris appeared bunching the field for a 7 lap dash to the finish.   Brandon pulled away again on the restart with Van Straten holding second until Snellenberger was able to overtake the spot with 3 laps remaining.

Czarapata drove off to collect his 4th feature win of the season.  Snellenberger took second with Van Ooyen holding off Van Straten.   Jacobsen and Travis Van Straten round out the top six.

Robby Thiel took the lead at the start of the IMCA Sport Mod feature and after a lap 2 caution set out to hide from the field.  Hunter Parsons,  Bruce Belland, Lucas Lamberies and Jessi Ness battled for the runner up spot as Thiel just drove away over the rest of the non-stop race.   Thiel drove off to collect his first career feature win with point leader, Jeremy Cota, moving up to join the race for second with 5 laps remaining.   Lamberies held off the charging Cota and Belland to take the runner up cash.   Belland held off Cota for third.   Parsons took sixth and Kevin Bethke rounded out the top 6.

Paul Parker took the leadin the WDLMA headliner followed by  Nick Anvelink, Ron Berna and Kurt Moeller.   Parker pulled the pack a bit early but once Anvelink got going, he dipped inside out of turn 4 on lap 4  and took the lead, which he extended thoughout the non stop race to claim his second straight Hoiday Classic feature flag this season.    Berna overtook  Parker for second on lap 16 but could not close in on the fleeting Anvelink.   Parker sealed the third place finish with Moeller cruising to his best late model finish in fourth.  Tim Buhler and Mitch McGrath rounded out the top six.

Jeff Dorschner took charge of the Turbo Blue Street Stock main event with Alan Schluetter, Jon Ashcraft and Jeff Jungwith behind.   Ashcraft moved up to overtake the leader on lap 5 and was able to pull away to pickup his first Seymour feature this season.   Junwirth caught Dorschner on the final lap to seal second place in the final tally.   Schlueter took fourth with Ryan Blank taking fifth over Patty Winkler.

T.J. Smith led the way over the first 4 laps of the Budweiser IMCA Modified feature event with Brad Lautenbach taking over on lap 5.  Jason Czarapata came through traffic from mid field to move into second on lap 8 and started to close in on the leader.  A caution erased a huge lead by Lautenbach and moved the field right behind.   Czarapata moved into the lead on lap 15 and took he checker for his 2nd feature win of the season.   Lautenbach collected the third place finish with Chad Bartel moving from mid pack to take third.   Smith took his best finish in fourth.  Jamie Schmidt came from the rear of the field to finish 5th and Mike Wedelstadt rounded out the top six.

Jeremy Czarapata started and finish the 4 Cylinder main event from the same spot, #1 on the board.    Harley Diedrick, Alyx Peterson and Lucas Hacker followed right behind,  Tyler Hungerford quickly moved  from mid pack into seconds on lap 5 and then on the bumper of the leader.   For the rest of the way Hungerford applied heavy pressure to Czarapata but he was up to the challenge and was able to hold on to collect his first career feature flag.   Brad Wedde finished third but was DQ’d for refusing a clam moving Kasey Gross to third followed by Cody Hungerford and Diedrick.

N.E.W. DIRT would like to THANK all of the drivers, crews and fans for attending the Summer Holiday Classis.    We know you have other choices for your Sunday entertainment and we are happy you choose the Seymour Speedway.

Next Sunday General Beer is the title sponsor of a full 5 division program.

The Seymour Speedway is a featured member track of, a website dedicated to bringing fans the best possible coverage of Local short track racing.


                                                WDLMA LATE MODELS

30 Lap Feature  l. Nick Anvelink  2, Ron Berna   3, Paul Parker   4. Kurt Moeller   5. Tim Buhler   6. Mitch McGrath

10 Lap Heats  First  l. Parker   2. Berna

Second  l. Anvelink   2. Moeller                         


20 Lap Feature  1. Jason Czarapata   2. Brad Lautenbach   3. Chad Bartel                 4. T.J. Smith   5. Jamie Schmidt   6. Mike Wedelstadt

8 Lap Heats  First  l.Smith   2. Cole Petit

Second  l. Czarapata   2. Eric Arneson

                                                COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

20 Lap feature  l Brandon Czarapata   2. Rod Snellenberger   3., Chas VanOoyen, Jr  4. Barry van Straten  5. Justin Jacobsen   6. Travis Van Straten

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Czarapata  2. Jacobsen

Second  1. Chris Loewenhagen  2. Snellenberger

                                                TURBO BLUE STREET STOCKS

12 Lap Feature  l   Jon Ashcraft  2. Jeff Jungwirth  3. Jeff Dorschner  4. Alan Schluetter  5. Ryan Blank   6. Patty Winkler

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Ashcraft   2. Jungwirth

Second  l. Blank   2. Jerry Winkler

                                                IMCA SPORT MODS

20 Lap Feature  l. Robby THiel  2. Lucas Lamberies  3. Bruce Belland   4. Jeremy Cota   5. Hunter Parsons  6. Kevin Bethke

8 Lap Heats   First  l. Parsons   2, Jessi Ness

                                                4 CYLINDERS

15 Lap feature  l. Jeremy Czarapata  2. Tyler Hungerford  3.Kasey Gross   4. Cody Hungerford   5. Harley Diedrick   6. Brad Prahl

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Gross   2. Alyx Peterson

Second  l. Tyler Hongerford   2. Diedrick

Login Form