Thursday, March 30, 2017
Text Size

Season Opening Winners Equal Point Leaders at Seymour Super Speedway

April 22nd (Seymour, WI) - The season opener at Seymour Super Speedway is officially in the books. On a cool night, 95 cars took part in the night’s races with 5 winning features in the respective divisions.

Gary Kasperek :: Street Stock feature winner

Phil Hiles used his pole position to grab the lead and take off in the opening laps of the Street Stock Feature. Gary Kasperek would work his way from sixth to second after three laps and three cautions. Gary Kasperek would use the final caution to stay on the bumper of Hiles. Kasperek would move up the track and use the middle to make the eventual race winning pass. Kasperek would set sail and would make his way through lapped traffic and pick up the win. Hiles would run second with Tony Everard third, Frank Groeschel fourth and Travis Springstroh fifth after being involved in an earlier caution.

Jeremy Cota :: IMCA Northern Sportmod feature winner

Jeremy Cota decided to grab the lead from the pole and never relinquish the lead in winning the IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature. Brad Lautenbach would run second until eight laps to go in the race when the final caution was thrown. On the restart Cota would get a great jump and shoot out to a half straightaway lead. Lautenbach would reel in Cota one car length at a time over the last five laps but would run out of time. Cota would win by half a car length over Lautenbach. Tracy Wassenberg, Tyler Hackett and Kurt Moeller would finish top five.

Shawn Havel ran the bottom early on in the IMCA Stockcar feature and held court over Brandon Czarapata. Havel would get loose off turn two on lap five and Czarapata would bolt inside. The duo ran wheel to wheel for a couple of laps until Czarapata would gain the lead for good. Shawn Wagner and John Heinz would have a great battle for second in the waning laps. Czarapata cruised to a straightaway win for his second feature win in a row after winning the Spring Thaw. Wagner edged Heinz at the line for second. Havel finished fourth while Brian Ambrosius ran fifth.

James Tebon and Mike Mullen put on a show early on in the Budweiser IMCA Modified Feature. Tebon would lead the first two laps until Mullen used a bump and run move off turn four to move into the lead. The duo would continue to dominate while Jason Czarapata made his way from eighth to third half way through the race. A Caution would fly with nine laps to go. Czarapata used his outside restarting sport to move to second over Tebon. With Mullen securing the bottom, Czarapata shot passed using the middle groove and went unchallenged on his way to the win. Mullen ran a great runner up finish. Tebon a solid third. A spin by Brian Mullen on the last lap would put him and Benji LaCrosse to the tail of the field. Fourth would then go to Lance Arneson and fifth to Jeremy Christians.

Jeff Behm looked to have the 4 Cylinder Feature win in hand until the waning laps when Calvin Stueck would reel him in. Coming into turn three on the last lap Behm would get a flat tire giving the win to Stueck. Behm still crossed the line second followed by Brian Johnson, Cody Hungerford and Ralph Liegeois Jr.

Next Sunday April 29th Da Swamp Bar will be sponsoring the night’s races. All five divisions will be running with a start time of 5 p.m. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is 1-920-833-7726. You can contact Cosmo at 1-920-420-8838.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


Budweiser IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2. Mike Mullen, Seymour 3. James Lee Tebon, Algoma 4. Lance Arneson, Krakow 5. Jeremy Christians, Horicon

Heats- #1 1. Mullen 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken

#2 1. Czarapata 2. Christians

#3 1. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour 2. Kyle Lentz, Green Bay


IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Wagner, Pulaski 3. John Heinz, Green Bay 4. Shawn Havel, Algoma 5. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski

Consy- 1. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton

Heats- #1 1. Havel 2. Heinz

#2 1. Larry Karcz JR, Pulaski 2. Andy Kornowski, Green Bay

#3 1. Czarapata 2. Wagner


IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano 4. Tyler Hackett, Algoma 5. Kurt Moeller, Seymour

Heats- #1 1. Wassenberg 2. Cota

#2 1. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 2. Lautenbach


Street Stock Feature- 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Phil Hiles, Appleton 3. Tony Everard, Green Bay 4. Frank Groeschel, Menasha 5. Travis Springstroh, Freedom

Heats- #1 1. Mert Summers, DePere 2. Everard

#2 1. Hiles 2. Kasperek


4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Jeff Behm, Clintonville 3. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 4. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute 5. Ralph Liegeois, Oconto


Heats- #1 1. Mike Montie, Abrams 2. Behm

#2 1. Johnson 2. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom

Login Form