Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Text Size

Czarapata Scores 9th Feature Win, LaCrosse Gets 2 in a Row

(Seymour, WI) July 15 - Benji LaCrosse bested a field of 18 cars to score his second win in a row in the IMCA Modifieds on Swinkles Trucking night at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stock Car), Brad Lautenbach (IMCA Sport Mod), Joe Schwister (Street Stock) and Jeff Behm (Four-Cylinders)

Former track Champion Benji LaCrosse made quick work of Jamie Schmidt passing him for the lead on lap 4. Jay Matthias and Jerry Wilinski gave chase charging into the top 3. Matthias then secured the second spot from Wilinski and began the task of trying to reel in LaCrosse who had built up a sizable advantage over the field. Matthias efforts went to the wayside when his machine made a loud pop and he headed to the pits. LaCrosse went unchallenged and lapped all the way to the 6th spot, its his second win in a row. Point leader Jason Czarapata charged late scoring second, Wilinski third, Kyle Kudick finished fourth coming from row 6 and Jeremy Hanson rounded out the top five.

IMCA Stock Car point leader Brandon Czarapata scored with 9th feature win of the season.

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Trevor Howard paced the first lap before being caught up in a spin which collected Shawn Wagner and Bill Kelsey. Kelsey’s night was done, Wagner rejoined but his racer saw heavy damage and wasn’t up to speed rest of the feature. Barry VanStraten inherited the lead, his reign up front only lasted till lap 4 as Brandon Czarapata powered by after starting in row 6. Czarapata survived a late race caution padding his point lead with the win. In a replay of last week Brian Ambrosius placed second, Kyle Fredrick used several 3-wide passes to finish third, Mitch Stankowski fourth and Jeremy Wiitala placed fifth after starting 15th.

After the checkers the red flag flew as VanStraten and Justin Jacobsen tangled battling for fifth. Jacobsen’s car hit the front stretch wall and ended up stopped on the driver side. Jacobsen emerged unscathed but his Wolfe Chassis suffered extensive damage.

Defending IMCA Sport Mod Champion Brad Lautenbach took the checkers for the second time this season.

Tyler Wilson paced the opening laps from his front row starting spot before Jason Guyette charged by for the lead on lap 6. Guyette ran the high groove and distanced himself from the field. Brad Lautenbach waged battle for the runner up spot with Jeremy Cota. Lautenbach finally made the pass by the midway point. With just 5 laps to go and the win in hand Guyette suffered a mechanical failure sending him to the pits handing the lead over to Lautenbach who fought off a late race charge from Cota to score his second win of the season, padding his point. Cota second, Josh Long third, Wilson held on for fourth and Kurt Mueller placed fifth.

Joe Schwister made it 2 wins in a row in the Street Stocks after leading every lap and fending off Jerry Winkler and Gary Kasperek. Kasperek came home second regaining the point lead, Winkler placed a solid third after starting 15th, Greg Steffens scored a season best fourth and Jon Ashcraft placed fifth after a spin midway through the contest.

Jeff Behm passed Andy Parshen on lap 4 and pulled away to his first feature win of the season in the Sport Fours. Tyler Hungerford second, last weeks winner Evan Beattie third, point leader Calvin Stueck fourth and Michael Verheyden fifth.

Action Auto will host next weeks races at Wisconsin’s fastest 1/3 mile. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. Track phone number is (920)-883-7726. Racing in the five divisions that include IMCA Modified, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, Street Stock and the Sport Fours in action every Sunday night. Pit gates open at 3:30 P.M. racing starts at 6:00 P.M. Social media you can follow Seymour on Twitter and like us on Facebook.


20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; 2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 3. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; 4. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers; 5. Jeremy Hanson, Green Bay
HEAT 1: Jim Hanson, Green Bay; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls
HEAT 2: Jeremy Hanson; LaCrosse

20 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Brandon Czarapata, Waupun; 2. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski; 3. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 4. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau; 5. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay
HEAT 1: Czarapata; Fredrick
HEAT 2: Chas Van Ooyen, Appleton; Shawn Wagner, Seymour

20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 3. Josh Long. Green Bay; 4. Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; 5. Kurt Mueller, Seymour
HEAT 1: Cota; Russell Franks, Oconto
HEAT 2: Wilson; Long

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Joe Schwister, Seymour; 2. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton; 3. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh; 4. Greg Steffens, Neenah; 5. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh
HEAT 1: Jeff Dorschner, Combined Locks; Ashcraft
HEAT 2: Derek Lecker, Black Creek; Schwister

15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1.Jeff Behm, Clintonville; 2. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom; 3. Evan Beattie, Little Chute; 4. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 5. Michael Verheyden, New Franken
HEAT 1: Stueck; Andrew Meyerhofer, Kaukauna
HEAT 2: Behm; Trent Nolan, Shawano

Login Form