Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

Holiday Classic Reults

By Edward Anschutz

(Seymour, WI) May 26, 2013 Results- 139 Car took the green flag and a packed house saw Shawn “Lunchbox” Wagner work the high side to perfection winning the IMCA Stock Car feature on a late race restart at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were “Rocket” Ron Berna (WDLMA), “Bad” Brad Rohloff (IMCA Modified), Tracy Wassenburg (IMCA Sport Mod), Gary Kasperek (Street Stock) and Calvin Stueck (Sport Fours). All feature winners took home special trophies in memory of Kim Parsons courtesy of co-track announcer Steve Parsons.

Reminder next Sunday June 2 Seymour switches to starting at 6pm for CSE night.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Coming into the night Jeremy Wiitala, JJ Heinz, Rod Snellenberger and Shawn Wagner all sat tied for the point lead in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars.

Draw redraw format for the first of three Summer Holiday Classics put JJ Heinz on the front row and he quickly jumped to the lead with Wagner giving chase. The duo quickly distanced themselves as they began to search the very wide and smooth racing surface for traction. Jeremy Wiitala suffered mechanical issues and was forced to the pits early. Wagner began to pressure Heinz by the midway point with both drivers running the extreme high side. As the battle for the lead heated up Kyle Fredrick, Brandon Czarapata and Rod Snellenberger began to close in. Fredrick was the first to make it a three car battle. A lone caution set up a 3 lap dash to the checkers. 

As the green dropped Heinz dove low and again Wagner went to the high side. Czarapata slipped under Heinz out of turn 2, Wagner was all by himself up top taking the lead away from Heinz. Heinz then crossed over and went back under Czarapata for second. With the checker flags waving and the fans on the edge their seat it was a four car battle for the win with Wagner keeping the moment up top securing his first feature win of the year, Czarapata and Fredrick with a very close second and third, Heinz Fourth and Snellenberger Fifth. With the win Wagner scored a clean sweep that puts him a top the standings.  

 Troy Springborn and Nick Anvelink had the invert put them on the front row of the Bill Behling  Memorial WDLMA Late Model starting grid. That duo quickly out paced the field leaving the battle for third with Bret Swedberg and Ron Berna. Anvelink continued to shade Springborn as they worked through lap traffic but Anvelink couldn’t get any closer than two car lengths of the leader. That all came to a stop when Jason Enoch’s machine came to a halt with 8 laps remaining. On the restart Berna blasted around the outside of Springborn and never looked back picking up the win his second of the weekend after winning Saturday at Shawano Speedway. Springborn had to settle for second, Anvelink third, Tom Naeyaert rallied late to nab fourth and Swedberg rounded out the top five. Justin Schmidt earned the WDLMA Allstar Hard Charger Award.

In the Budweiser IMCA Modifieds Chris Engels quickly built a lead with Jerry Wilinski giving chase. With only a handful of laps in the books Brad Rohloff raced to the front passing Engels on lap 7. Rohloff then checked out leaving Engels, Wilinski, Jason Czarapata and Jay Matthias to battle for the runner up position. Rohloff took the white flag as Matthias and Czarapata tangled on the back stretch resulting in Czarapata bouncing off the wall ending his night. The checker and caution flags fell together with Rohloff scoring a dominating win in his first visit of the season with his Mad Man Chassis, Engels scored a season best second, Wilinski, Matthias and Troy Jerovetz completed the top five. 

Aaron Muhle paced the first 6 laps of the IMCA Sport Mod main before Zeke Bishofberger took the top spot working tight to the tires. Point leader Tracy Wassenberg charged from row 6 using the cushion on his way to the runner up position at the midway point. Wassenberg closed in and passed Bishofberger for the lead with 7 laps remaining going unchallenged wheeling his car to victory for the second week in a row. Bishofberger placed a solid second for his first visit of the season, Jeremy Cota third, Muhle fourth and Tyler Wilson was fifth.  Wassenberg scored a clean sweep in the caution free event. 

Gary Kasperek made his first appearance of the season in the Street Stocks a good one passing  point leader John Ashcraft on lap 5 and cruised to victory. Ashcraft was forced to settle for second but he did pad his point lead, Joe Schwister had another strong finish third, Lexii Ashcraft fourth and Mert Summers placed fifth after starting in row 6. 

Defending Sport Four champion Calvin Stueck led every lap en route to victory followed by new point leader Tyler Hungerford, Patrick Kowalaski, Matthew Prouty and Brandon Kaye rounded out the top five.

Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is; Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. Track phone number is (920)-883-7726. Racing in the six divisions that include IMCA Modified, Fastrak Late Models, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern Sport Mods, Street Stocks and the Sport Fours in action every Sunday night. Racing starts at 6:00 P.M. Social media you can follow Seymour on Twitter and like us on Facebook. 


30 LAP WDLMA LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Ron Berna, Green Bay; 2. Troy Springborn, Shawano; 3. Nick Anvelink, Navarino; 4. Tom Naeyaert, Shawano; 5. Bret Swedberg, Shawano; 6. Justin Ritchie, New London; 7. Justin Hirt, Tigerton; 8. Todd Jensema, Sheboygan Falls; 9. Pete Parker, Kaukauna; 10. Dave Fieber, Neenah; 11. Justin Schmidt, Cleveland; 12. Jim Schmidt, Cleveland; 13. Joe Reuter, Green Bay; 14. Bob Cullen, Chilton; 15. Mark Rose, Elcho; 16. Chris Oretel, Marshfield; 17. Robby Bunkelman, Abbotsford; 18. Cody Grosskreutz, Clintonville; 19. Jason Enoch, Colgate; 20. Jeff Curtin, Shawano

HEAT 1: Anvelink; Berna
HEAT 2: Springborn; Parker
HEAT 3: Swedberg; Fieber

20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Brad Rohloff, Pulaski; 2. Chris Engels, Green Bay; 3. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; 4. Jay Matthias, Green Bay; 5. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Engels
HEAT 2: Eric Mahlik, Green Bay; Tyler Hackett, Algoma
HEAT 3: Matthias; Wilinski
HEAT 4: Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Jamie Schmidt, Seymour
LAST CHANCE QUALIFIER 1: Mitch McGrath, Neosho; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay
LAST CHANCE QUALIFIER 2: Jeremy Christians, Horicon; TJ Smith, Menasha

20 LAP COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Shawn Wagner, Seymour; 2. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton; 3. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 4. JJ Heinz, Green Bay; 5. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

HEAT 1: B. Czarapata; Heinz
HEAT 2: Wagner; Fredrick
HEAT 3: Snellenberger; Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls, 

20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Tracy Wassenburg, Shawano; 2. Zeke Bishofberger, Fort Atkinson; 3. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 4. Aaron Muhle, Beaver Dam; 5. Tyler Wilson, Sobieski

HEAT 1: Rob Krull, Navarino; Jessi Ness, Abrams
HEAT 2: Wassenberg; Bishofberger
HEAT 3: Josh Long, Green Bay; Cota
LAST CHANCE QUALIFIER 1: Josh Massart, Brussels; Jarred VanLaanen, Green Bay

15 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton; 2. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 3. Joe Schwister, Seymour; 4. Lexii Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 5. Mert Summers, Wrightstown

HEAT 1: Derek Lecker, Black Creek; J. Ashcraft
HEAT 2: Schwister; Aaron Melchert, Seymour

15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 2. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom; 3. Patrick Kowalaski, Seymour; 4. Matthew Prouty, Appleton; 5. Brandon Kaye, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Stueck; Brad Prahl, Delafield 

Login Form