Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

Reinwald Sweeps IMCA Mods In Seymour 2010 Spring Thaw

Click to see race-day image gallery
Horicon's Russ Reinwald snuck past De Pere's Tim Van De Hei on a lap three restart and hung on to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature at the season opening race at Seymour Speedway Sunday night.

Reinwald won his heat race, scoring a clean sweep for the night. Reinwald wasn't the only driver who earned a clean sweep before a large, sun-drenched crowd.

#10s Rod Snellenberger
Former IMCA national stock car champion Rod Snellenberger of Pulaski pulled off the same feat in his division, as did Appleton's David Hoerning in the street stocks. Oneida's Jason Cornelius also scored a clean sweep in the 4 banger division.

Six inches of snow covered the race track as late as Thursday, and NEW DIRT crews burned the midnight oil to try to get a race in, shifting opening day to Sunday instead.

A total of 133 cars signed in for northeast Wisconsin's earliest opener ever, including 26 IMCA modifeds, 28 stock cars and 28 northern sportmods, 20 street stocks and 29 4 cylinders.

In the IMCA modified main, Reinwald, who started 10th in the field, had worked his way up to fourth by lap three, when a caution flew. On the restart, Reinwald ducked inside De Pere's Tim Van De Hei, who inherited the early lead. Reinwald quickly built up a sizeable lead, while polesitter Sean Jerovetz tried desperately to keep Reinwald within striking distance.

#19x David Hoerning
Near the end of the contest Reinwald was weaving in and out of lapped cars and hung on to capture the win. Jerovetz hung on for second, followed by Green Bay's Eddie Muenster, and the father-son combo of Brian and Mike Mullen of Green Bay.

Snellenberger drew the pole position for the IMCA stock car main. In the early going Gillett's Kyle Frederick waged a battle with Snellenberger, and the pair swapped the lead in the early going. Shiocton's Barry Van Straten scampered past Frederick for second on a lap eight restart, and kept Snellenberger within striking distance. Snellenberger kept all challengers at bay to win the main. Van Straten took second, followed by Green Bay's John Heinz, Frederick and Little Suamico's Justin Jacobson rounded out the top five.

#20 Brad Theys
Second year driver Brad Theys of Kewaunee shocked the IMCA northern sportmod field. Theys outraced polesitter Luxemburg's Scott Boulanger to the lead at the drop of the green and Theys went on to capture the caution free, 20 lap feature, the first of his career. Trailing Theys at the checkers were Oconto Falls' Eric Arneson, Green Bay's Troy Jerovetz, Travis Van Straten of Hortonville and Boulanger.

#10x Jason Cornelius
Hoerning fought off stiff challenges from Green Bay Todd Everard during the balance of the contest to win the street stock feature. Everard settled for second at the pay window, followed by Brandon Reidner, Jon Schutz and Bob Czarapata.

Cornelius led from the drop of the green to capture the 15 lap 4 banger main.

The next weekly race at Seymour will be on Sunday, May 2. Track points will be earned beginning that night. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m.




Russ Reinwald, Horicon; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken


1) Julie Wedelstadt, Fremont; Scott Mullen, Seymour


1) Reinwald, Jerovetz

2) Brian Mullen; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski

3) Tim Van De Hei, DePere; Muenster



Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Barry Van Straten, Shiocton; John Heinz, Green Bay; Kyle Fredrick, Gillett; Justin Jacobson, Little Suamico; Shawn Wagner, Seymour


1) Dion Wahl, Waukau; Harley Simon, Seymour


1) Heinz; Frederick

2) Snellenberger; Wagner

3) VanStraten; Jacobson



Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Travis VanStraten, Hortonville; Scott Boulanger, Luxemburg; Jeff Steenbergen, Waupun


1) Steenbergen, Waupun; Jason Guyette, Black Creek


1) Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Rob Czarapata, Oconto

2) Arneson; VanStraten

3) Greg Potts, Green Bay; Boulanger



Dave Hoerning, Appleton; Todd Everard, Green Bay; Brandon Riedner, Fort Atkinson; Jon Schultz, Oshkosh; Bob Czarapata, Pulaski; Derek Lecker, Black Creek


1) Andy Paluch, Pulaski; Czarapata

2) Hoerning; Joe Johnson, Seymour



Jason Corneilus, Oneida; Ralph Liegeois Jr, Oconto; Calvin Stueck, Freedom; Drengler; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Jody Cornelius, Oneida


Johnson; Josh Mroczkowski, Pulaski


1) Drengler; Dan Juszcyyk, Sobieski

2) Justin Vannievenhoven, Green Bay; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski

3) Jason Cornelius; Liegeois Jr

Login Form