Friday, March 24, 2017
Text Size

Lacrosse Wins IMCA Mod Feature, Title At Seymour

Click to see image gallery

Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse charged from row five and passed Seymour’s Jamie Schmidt for the lead with two laps remaining to win the 20 lap IMCA modified feature at Seymour Speedway Sunday night. With the win LaCrosse successfully defended his division title.

A total of 97 cars showed up to race, including 18 IMCA modifieds, 22 stock cars, 20 northern sportmods, 19 street stocks and 18 4 bangers.

Schmidt took second at the pay window, followed by Seymour’s Brian Mullen, Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata and New London’s Mike Wedelstadt.

Pulaski’s Devin Snellenberger passed Gillett’s Kyle Frederick with three laps to go to win his first 20 lap IMCA stock car feature of the season. Snellenberger’s father “Hot Rod” Snellenberger was absent, as he missed the weekend of racing due to a medical procedure that prevented him from racing.

Seymour’s Shawn Wagner, who already wrapped the track championship a week ago, stormed through the field from the 11th row into third with three laps to go. Wagner snuck past Frederick for second on lap 18 but could not pull off the pass for the win and settled for second. Frederick took third, followed by Pulaski’s Junior Karcz and Bowler’s Greg Gutt.

New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach won the time-shortened, caution filled IMCA northern sportmod feature.

Lautenbach started ninth on the field and worked his way into the top three by lap five. Lautenbach scooted around Seymour’s Marty Van De Hei for the lead on lap seven and cruised to victory. Hortonville’s Travis Van Straten, De Pere’s Johnny Whitman, Oconto’s Jeremy Cota and Green Bay’s Josh Long rounded out the top five.

By virtue of his third place finish De Pere’s Johnny Whitman earned the IMCA northern sportmod track championship.

Kaukauna’s Matt Drawenek took advantage of lapped traffic to muscle his way inside of leader Fred Davister of Luxemburg at the finish line to collect the 20 lap street stock feature. The contest was delayed for one half hour after a three car accident in turn four took out several concrete blocks in turn four. Davister took second, followed by Wrightstown’s Mert Summers, points leader Todd Everard and Hortonville’s Stephen Hiles. With one week remaining Drawenek remains 11 points behind Everard in the points chase.

Krakow rookie Josh Mroczkowski swept action in the 4 bangers. Oneida’s Jason Cornelius holds a 13 point lead over Oconto Falls Brian Johnson heading into the final night of racing.

Next Sunday, September 5 will be round three of the Summer Holiday Classic. Late Models will make their final appearance of the season as champions will be crowned in the street stock and 4 banger classes. which begins at 6 p.m. The track phone is 920 833 7726.



IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Brian Mullen, Seymour; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Mike Wedelstadt, New London; Mark Van Kauwenberg, Green Bay
HEATS – 1) Van Kauwenberg; Mullen  2) Schmidt; Chris Engels, Green Bay

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski; Shawn Wagner, Seymour; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Junior Karcz, Pulaski; Greg Gutt, Bowler; Paul White, Green Bay
HEATS – 1) Frederick; Steve Thornton, Sobieski  2) Karcz; Dan Nelson, Brillion  3) Andy Kornowski, Green Bay; Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; Travis Van Straten, Hortonville; Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Josh Long, Green Bay; Jason Guyette, Black Creek
HEATS – 1) Kevin Birr, Krakow; Kevin Bethke, Neenah  2) Kurt Moeller, Seymour; Rod Solem, Seymour

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna; Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Mert Summers, Wrightstown; Todd Everard, Green Bay; Stephen Hiles, Hortonville; Bob Czarapata, Krakow
HEATS – 1) Mert Summers, Wrightstown; Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna  2) Fred Davister, Luxemburg; Derek Lecker, Black Creek

4 BANGER FEATURE – Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow; Wayne Hansen, Krakow; Dan Juszcyk, Sobieski; Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski Jason Cornelius, Oneida
HEATS – 1) Ryan Plog, Green Bay; Mitch Pallock, Pulaski  2) Mroczkowski;  Hansen

Login Form