Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

Frederick 3-Peats Seymour Super Speedway

Kyle Frederick :: IMCA Stockcar Feature winner (Seymour, WI) Kyle Frederick won a wild feature event in the IMCA Stockcars over Shawn Wagner for the third week in a row. Chad Bartel led wire to wire and picked up the Budweiser IMCA Modified feature event. Other winners were Brad Theys in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Phil Hiles in the Street Stocks and Ralph Liegeois Jr in the 4 Cylinders.

Nick Guyette and Jon Schultz paced the opening five laps of the IMCA Northern Sportmod feature side by side. Guyette would eventually grab the lead with a slight edge over Schultz. Brad Theys would make his way to the front from the middle of the field and start to reel in Guyette. Theys would eventually catch and make the pass on Guyette on lap thirteen using the topside of the track. Theys would lead until debris from Jeremy Cota’s racer would set up a four lap sprint to the checker flag. Theys would hold off all challenges and pick up the feature win. Point leader Eric Arneson finished second. Brad Lautenbach would wind up third with Rob Charapata and Schultz rounding out the top five.

Phil Hiles used his outside pole position to inherit the early lead in the Street Stock feature. Gary Kasperik would make his way from eight to second in two laps and put heavy pressure on Hiles. Josh Novak made his way outside of Kasperik and Hiles to grab the lead. While leading the next lap, Novak would spin in turn four causing a caution. Hiles would inherit the lead for a second time in the race. Kasperik used the outside lane on the restart to grab the lead from Hiles. Kasperik would lose power three laps later again giving Hiles the lead for a third time. At the white flag, Joe Schwister made his way to second and shot inside Hiles but couldn‘t make the pass. Hiles hung on and would win his first feature of the season. Schwister was second. Point leader Dan Gracyalny finished third. Shawn Hayden and Mert Summers rounded out the top five.

Chad Bartel and Marcus Yarie started on the front row in the Budweiser IMCA Modified feature. The top 2 would never be passed and pulled away from the field early on. Bartel would use the middle groove to cruise away from Yarie. Bartel would end up winning the feature by ¼ lap over Yarie. Bartel’s feature win was his second of the weekend as he picked up the win at Luxemburg Speedway. Mike Wedelstadt fought off a hard charging Brian Mullen for third. With Mullen fourth, Jason Czarapata would finish fifth.

Steve Thornton led the opening lap of the IMCA Stockcar feature. Thorton would slide up the track on lap two giving the lead to Harley Simon down low. On lap five, Kyle Frederick got into Jeremy Wiitala causing a caution. Frederick would be sent to the rear of the field and restart 20th. On the restart Jon Courchaine would nab the lead and hold it throughout a handful of midrace cautions. Kyle Frederick used the cautions to his advantage and picked off several cars following the cautions. Shawn Wagner would use the final restart and grab the lead down low with Courchaine still to his inside. Frederick would stay on the topside and eventually track down Wagner and Courchaine. Frederick would make a three wide pass through the middle and cruise to his third feature win in a row. Wagner would finish second for the third week in a row. Courchaine finished third. Devin Snellenberger came through the consy to finish fourth. Early race leader Simon finished fifth.

Ralph Liegeois Jr passed Derek Kaye on lap 4 of the 4 Cylinder feature and would cruise to victory. Brian Johnson would keep heavy pressure on Liegeois the whole way but wound up second. Sam Ambrosius rounded out the top three.

Next Sunday Night July 3rd, Late Models will be in action along with the five regular divisions for night number two of the Summer Holiday Classic presented by Frank‘s Place. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS Address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is (920)833-7726.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Chad Bartel, Shiocton 2. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 3. Mike Wedelstadt, New London 4. Brian Mullen, Seymour 5. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski Heats- #1 1. Johnny Wittman, DePere 2. Lance Arneson, Krakow #2 1. Yarie 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 2. Shawn Wagner, Pulaski 3. Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls 4. Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski 5. Harley Simon, Seymour Consy- 1. John Heinz, Green Bay Heats- #1 Wagner 2. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton #2 1. Simon 2. Mike Gilson, Greanleaf #3 1. Frederick 2. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 4. Rob Charapata, Oconto 5. Jon Schultz, Waunakee Heats- #1 1. Theys 2. Charapata #2 1. Jason Guyette, Black Creek 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto

Street Stock Feature- 1. Phil Hiles, Appleton 2. Joe Schwister, Seymour 3. Dan Gracyalny, Little Chute 4. Shawn Hayden, Appleton 5. Mert Summers, Wrightstown

Heats- #1 1. Matt Drawenek, Kaukana 2. Hayden #2 1. Hiles 2. Gary Kasperik, Tigerton

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Ralph Liegeois Jr, Oconto 2. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 3. Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski 4. Matt Frisch, Oconto 5. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville Heats- #1 1. Johnson 2. Frisch #2 1. Liegeois Jr 2. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow

Login Form