Friday, March 24, 2017
Text Size

May 10 - Race Report

IMCA STOCK CAR Rookie Bill Kelsey won his first race in the division taking his heat race Sunday night at the Seymour SpeedwaySeymour, May 10 - What started out as a questionable day for racing, Mothers Day turned into a great night of racing at the Seymour Speedway.

The IMCA Sport Mods took the track for their feature event with 21 cars on the grid.

Chad Guyette took the green and the lead followed by Jamie Goffard, Johnny Whitman, Travis Van Straten and Brad Lautenbach.    The front 2 cars started to pull away from the field as the pack stayed tight behind. A caution on lap 13 erased the big lead and put Rod Solem in third followed by Adam White, Van Straten, Tim Jorgenson and Troy Jerovetz.

Over the final 7 laps, Guyette was able to hold a slight lead as last weeks winner, Jorgenson moved into the runner up spot.    Jorgenson ran out of laps, and followed Guyette across the finish line.  The win was the first of the season for Guyette.  Solem took third with Goffard, White and Jerovetz round out the top six.IMCA STOCK CAR #17 Rookie Harley Simon collected his first checker in the division winning his heat race Sunday night at the Seymour Speedway

Street Stocks were up next with Derek Lecker taking the lead followed by Jesse LaCrosse, Justin Jacobsen, Aaron Melchert, Todd Everard and Joe Schwister.

Four laps in, Lecker was still in control when the first caution appeared.   Everard took the lead after the restart and started to pull away from the field..   Four more cautions slowed the pace and each time bunched the field on Everard.    Melchert, Phil Hiles, Jeremy Wiitala, Jacobsen and David Hoerning were in line at the mid point of the race and battled with each other for the rest of the race.   Everard collected his first feature win of the year pulling away in the time limit shortened race.   Melchert took second followed by Hoerning and Wiitala.   Hiles was fifth and Geno Sternard took sixth.

IMCA SPORT MOD #33 Chad Guyette won his first feature of the season and gets congrats from Seymour Speedway mascot Speedy, Sunday night.The Budweiser IMCA Modifieds took the green with Kyle Kudick taking charge with Zach Drews, Marcus Yarie, Chad Wilcox and Mike Mullen behind.   Action at the front was tight  and cautions on laps 8 and 10 bunched the pack.   The battle continued throughout the field with cars running four wide several times while trying to work to the front.     Mullen took the lead after the final restart and was able to open a lead.    Wilcox, Drews, Yarie, Sean Jerovetz, Brandon Czarapata and Benji LaCrosse were grouped behind.   Mullen was able to hold off all challenges and collected his first feature win of the young season.   Wilcox took the runner up spot with LaCrosse taking third.    Eric Scribner fought his way into fourth with Czarapata and Mike Wedelstadt rounding out the top six.

STREET STOCK #22 Speedy congratulates Todd Everard after his first feature win of the season Sunday night.Rod Snellenberger quickly took charge in the IMCA Stock Car main but on a lap 2 caution, a tack official sent him to pit lane for a flat tire and second place Harley Simon also went down pit lane, turning the lead over to Dave Budzban with Bob Schampers, Kyle Wanner, Chris Lange, Larry Karcz, Jr and Kyle Frederick behind.   The next 13 laps were green and there was plenty of action to keep track of as  the middle of the field ran four and five wide battling to the front.  By lap 7, John Heinz moved from the middle of the field into third and by lap 10, was in the top spot with Karcz, Wanner and Budzban behind.  A late race caution on lap 15 bunched the field a final time but Heinz took off and earned his second straight feature win.   Karcz took second with Chaz Van Ooyen, Jr coming from deep in the field, to take third .  Wanner sat fourth with Brian Bruechert and Jeremy Christians rounding out the top six.   Matt Frisch took charge of the 4 Cylinder main  with Logan Sobieck, Dan Juszczyk, Kevin Glatz and Dean DeKeyser behind.     After a lap 4 caution, Sobieck led for a lap before Frisch again took the top spot.  Last weeks feature winner, Kevin Birr moved into the top five and continued to move to the front.  By lap 9, Birr was in the lead with Frisch, Sobieck , Juszczyk, Brian Johnson and Tony Everard behind.

Birr collected his second straight feature win with Frisch taking second.  Sobieck, Juszczyk, Everard and Mitch Pallock round out the top six.

IMCA STOCK CAR #57 John Heinz won his second straight feature Sunday night at the Seymour Speedway BUDWEISER IMCA MODS #70 Mike Mullen won his first feature of the season Sunday night at the Seymour Speedway






20 Lap feature 

l. Mike Mullen, Seymour  2. Chad Wilcox, Pulaski  3. Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg  4. Eric Scribner, Forest Junction  5. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton  6. Mike Wedelstadt, Fremont

10 Lap Consy 

First: l. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski  2. Tim Lemirande, Verona  3. Scott Mullen,. Seymour  4. Randy Marquardt, Jr, Sheboygan Falls

Second:  l. Julie Wedelstadt, Oconto  2. Shawn Kilgore, Kewaunee  3. Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay  4. Eric Mullen, Seymour


8 Lap Heats

First:  l. Marcus Yarie, Wausau  2. Brian Mullen, Seymour

Second:  l.  Kyle Kudick, Mishicot  2. Zach Drews, Ringle

Third: l.  Mike Wedelstadt  2. Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski

Fourth: l. Scribner  2. Jared Siefert, Green Bay



17 Lap Feature (time limit) 

l. Todd Everard, Green Bay   2. Aaron Melchert, Black Creek  3. David Hoerning, Appleton  4, Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay  5. Phil Hiles, Appleton  6. Geno Sternard, Sturgeon Bay

8 Lap Heats

First:  l. Justin Jacobsen,   2. Derek Lecker, Black Creek

Second:  l. Wiitala  2. Everard



20 Lap Feature 

l. John Heinz, Green Bay  2. Larry Karcz, Jr, Pulaski  3. Chaz Van Ooyen, Jr, Appleton   4. Kyle Wanner, Green Bay  5. Brian Bruechert, Kewaunee  6. Jeremy Christians, Horicon

10 Lap Consy

First:  First  l.  Christians   2, Al Umentum,  Pulaski  2. 3. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton

Second:  l. Van Ooyen, Jr  2. Mike Pierrard, Seymour   3. Brandon Krueger, Bonduel

8 Lap Heats

First:  l. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg  2. Bruechert

Second:  l. Harley Simon, Seymour  2. Chris Lange, Appleton

Third:  l. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski  2. Kyle Frederick, Gillett

Fourth:  l. Shawn Wagner, Seymour  2. Dave Budzban, Luxemburg



20 Lap Feature 

l. Chad Guyette, Black Creek  2. Tim Jorgenson, Seymour  3. Rod Solem, Seymour  4. Jamie Goffard, Seymour  5. Adam White, Green Bay  6. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

8 Lap Heats

First:  1. Greg Potts, Green Bay  2. Guyette

Second:  1. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls  2. Goffard

Third:  1. Johnny Whitman, DePere   2. Travis Cain



15 Lap Feature 

1. Kevin Birr, Krakow  2. Matt Frisch, Oconto   3. Logan Sobieck, Green Bay  4, Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski  5. Tony Everard, Green Bay  6. Mitch Pallock , Pulaski

8 Lap Heats

First:  1. Ralph Liegeois, Jr, Oconto   2.  Sobieck

Second:  1. Frisch   2. Dean DeKeyser, Pulaski

Login Form