Friday, March 24, 2017
Text Size

2011 Weekly Race Reports

The Checkered Flag Has Flown On 2011

The final checker flag has flown for the 2011 season at Seymour Super Speedway. The Fall Classic winners were Paul Parker(Late Models) Danny Deau(Modifieds) Brian Ambrosius(Stocks) Jason Guyette(Sport Mods) Trevor Schmidt(Street Stocks) Tim Doehling(Grand Nationals) and Brian Johnson(4 Cylinders).

Matt Drawenek took early advantage of the Street Stock feature powering from the outside into the lead. Gary Kasperek would make his move into second place and make a run down low after the only caution of the race. Kasperek would gain the lead on the bottom and then head out for a Saturday afternoon cruise. With Kasperek dominating the race, Trevor Schmidt got passed Drawenek for second and set his sights on the leader. Schmidt would battle from a near full straightaway disadvantage to catch Kasperek with two laps to go. Schmidt would make his way underneath Kasperek and power away with the lead and eventual win. It was Schmidt’s first win of the season at the speedway. Drawenek made a last corner pass on Kasperek for second. Todd Everard finished fourth with Shawn Hayden fifth.

Tim Doehling used a dominating performance to win the Grand National feature event. The race was filled with six cautions through the early part of the race keeping the field close. Doehling was able to pull away from Tim Thompson on every restart and eventually grab the checker flag. Thompson would run second with Steven Ruh making a late charge to third. Nick Strobbe and Larry Zirbel rounded out the top five.



Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


Read more: The Checkered Flag Has Flown On 2011


Gracyalny and Johnson Secure Track Championships

(Seymour, WI)- 158 cars packed the pits to race the Summer Holiday Classic 3. Feature winners were Greg Nippoldt (Late Models) Shawn Kilgore (IMCA Modifieds) Brian Ambrosius (IMCA Stockcars) Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sportmods) Jerry Winkler (Street Stocks) and Tyler Hungerford ( 4 Cylinders)

Dan Gracyalny :: Street Stock Track Champion Brian Johnson :: 4 Cylinder Track Champion

Pete Parker used his front row starting spot to grab the early lead in the Late Model feature event. Greg Nippoldt would quickly run into second after a lap three caution. Nippoldt would use the restart to stay with Parker and work to the inside of him on lap six. Nippoldt would take the lead and cruise away to pick up the win in the feature event. Justin Ritchie would finish second after passing Parker with three laps to go. Parker would finish third with Nick Anvelink fourth and Jim Schmidt fifth.

Read more: Gracyalny and Johnson Secure Track Championships



Brian Mullen :: IMCA Modified Track Champion Kyle Fredrick :: IMCA Stock Car Track Champion Brad Lautenbach :: IMCA Northern Sport Mods Track Champion

(Seymour, WI) August 28 -”Dancin” Lance Arneson passed Scott Mullen with just 3 laps remaining to take home his second feature of the season in the IMCA ModifiedsatSeymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Brian Ambrosius (IMCA Stock Car), Chad Guyette (IMCA Sport Mod), Danny Gracyalny (Street Stock) and Brian Johnson (Four-Cylinders) Seymour would crown Champions in all IMCA sanctioned classes. In the IMCA Modifieds Seymour’s Brian Mullen would add another Championship to his long list of accomplishments. Kyle Fredrick of Oconto Falls took home his first career Championship in the IMCA Stock Cars. In the IMCA Northern Sport Mods, New Franken’s Brad Lautenbach captured his first ever track title by 1 point over Kewaunee’s Brad Theys.



Czarapata, Ambrosius, Guyette, Hiles, and Johnson Victorius at Seymour Super Speedway

Jason Czarapata :: IMCA Modified feature winner (Seymour, WI)- Brian Ambrosius, Jason Guyette and Brian Johnson now have won two features in a row in their respective divisions. After Sunday Jason Czarapata and Phil Hiles have each won three features in their divisions on the season.

Mike Wedelstadt used his outside row number one starting spot to nab the lead in the IMCA Modified feature. Lance Arneson would quickly run to second and get to the back bumper of Wedelstadt. The duo would run on top until halfway through the race mechanical woes would send Arneson to the infield. Jason Czarapata and Benji LaCrosse would make their ways to second and third and move passed Wedelstadt for the top two spots. Czarapata would continue to run the top with LaCrosse right behind. LaCrosse would make a move to the back bumper on the white flag lap but couldn’t make the pass. Czarapata would win his third feature of the season followed by LaCrosse, James Tebon third, Jerry Wilinski fourth and Mike Wedelstadt falling to fifth. The race went green to checker.

Justin Jacobsen graced the front of the IMCA Stockcar feature early on. Jacobsen would continue to fight for the lead in a three-wide battle with Bill Kelsey and Mike Coel. Shawn Wagner and Brian Ambrosius would make their way through the field by the halfway point of the race. Ambrosius would fight to the inside and eventually take the lead on Jacobsen on lap 11. On lap 13, the lone caution of the main event would fly. Ambrosius would shoot out from the pack and go onto win his second main event in a row. Wagner would have to settle for second place points. Mike Coel would run a season best third. Jeremy Wiitala and Jacobsen rounded out the top 5.

Read more: Czarapata, Ambrosius, Guyette, Hiles, and Johnson Victorius at Seymour Super Speedway


Wedelstadt, Ambrosius, Guyette and Kasperek Win at Seymour Super Speedway

Mike Wedelstadt :: IMCA Modified feature winner, 100th career IMCA Modified feature win (Seymour, WI)- Mike Wedelstadt hit a huge feat at Seymour Super Speedway in his IMCA Modified racer Sunday Night. Wedelstadt earned his 100th career IMCA Modified feature win. Other winners were Brian Ambrosius(IMCA Stockcars), Jason Guyette (IMCA Sportmods), Gary Kasperek (Street Stocks) and Brian Johnson (4 Cylinders).
 Mike Wedelstadt used his outside pole position to grab the top spot early in the IMCA Modified feature. Kyle Lentz would make his way to second and track down Wedelstadt. A lone caution on lap 7 would put the field back together. On the caution, point leader Brian Mullen would stall and be pushed off by the tow truck ending his night. Kyle Lentz used the restart to jump inside Wedelstadt and make numerous attempts down low. Wedelstadt would continue to lead with the lone exception of lap 14 where Lentz was able to lead. In the final laps, Lentz repeated going down low for the lead but couldn’t make anything stick. Lentz got one last push off turn four on the last lap but would have to settle for second. The win for Wedelstadt would be his 100th career IMCA Modified feature win. Second place man in points, Jason Czarapata would cut into Mullens lead with his third place finish. Mitch McGrath and Lance Arneson would round out the top 5.

Read more: Wedelstadt, Ambrosius, Guyette and Kasperek Win at Seymour Super Speedway


Page 1 of 3

Login Form